Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-06-2008, 03:04 AM   #1
backstabbing
Registered User
 
backstabbing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Z3 to Maya

i just wanted to know that when i create something in ZBrush 3 and send it to maya using OBJ why does the object have such a large amount of poly.......

here is an image to tell u wat i mean
Attached Thumbnails
 
backstabbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 04:21 AM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Kind of answerin your own question tbh, its because sculpting programs such as zbrush and mudbox use really high poly count levels to get really high detail models. hese are often used to create high detail displacement maps for animation etc.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 09:50 AM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

yeah - start reading up on normal and displacement maps. you need to export a low poly model into maya and then use displacement or normal maps to make up the difference.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 12:29 PM   #4
backstabbing
Registered User
 
backstabbing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the help guyz,

well i was reading over the net about normal and displacement maps... i didnt really get it the first time but i went to to Zbrush and played around and found this tool called Geometry it had 2 choices ; one says High res and the other says Low res i kept on clicking Low res and i ended up with the same object but lower res, its like my object reduced 10X its poly count. and thats where i start playing with normals and displacement maps.


so i guess i got the first step, i'll know more along the way but thanks for your help

Cheers
backstabbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.