Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-06-2008, 08:44 PM   #1
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default God im bad at rigging

when ever i paint weights for a joint other joints seem to change and i dont know why
the weights might not be saving i dont know
after painting do i need to press enter or sonething?
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2008, 09:40 PM   #2
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

You need to use the toggle hold weights option once you get the area weighted properly. Also work from the hands to the shoulder then work on the head to the neck then the legs to the bum then finally the chest and abdomen.
I always find this process a nightmare and found the setup machine to be very usefuly as it does the weighting for you. You will still need to tweak the weights once it had done its thing but it is a massive help. Since using it I have been able to get a character done to a decent standard in around 2 hrs + it creates all the joints and curves so it saves a massive amount of time.

Hope this helps
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2008, 11:31 PM   #3
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

The Key to painting weights is always add. when u remove the weights from one area you must add it somewhere else...

Mikes Character Rigging Tutorial goes over this really well.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 08:59 AM   #4
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

well i have an elephant (biped)
and when i move the trunk part of the body moves, how do i paint the weights to stop this (i cant find 'mikes tuttorial')
the only rigging one i found is by kurt
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 09:28 AM   #5
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

select the verts on the body that are moving and open the component editor under the window tab > general editors.
Find where they are weighted to the trunk joint and set them to 0.
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 10:47 AM   #6
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I think ive got it now
thanks for all the help


but somehow i doubt this is the end of it.....
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 11:17 AM   #7
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

i was right!

when you have copyed weights from one thing to another, and something on the second thing isnt quite right, how do you edit it?
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 11:17 AM   #8
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

i was right!

when you have copyed weights from one thing to another, and something on the second thing isnt quite right, how do you edit it?
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.