Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-07-2008, 11:59 AM   #1
should_be_shot
Subscriber
 
should_be_shot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lincoln, United Kingdom
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Converting Problem

I've had this problem before with a previous project but never got the bottom of it and ended up just giving up. I've started making a character made from various pieces of geometry which I've merged together using the vertices. Now it's basic fleshed out form and all joined together I wanted to convert it from a polygon to a SubDiv to add more detail. The problem is it won't convert. I've tried messing around with the maximum base mesh faces, maximum base edges per vertex options but it doesn't seem to make any difference. I'm guessing this problem could be caused by some dodgy geometry when I was joining it togehter but it looks fine.
Any ideas of what the problem could be or advise on how to go about fixing this problem.

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Ignorance is bliss
should_be_shot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 03:06 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

look in the script editor and it should give you an idea of the problem, it could be as simple as not having the max count limit too small and if so it will tell you what number to set it at.
Also you could try the cleanup option which can find non manifold geo ect.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 03:19 PM   #3
should_be_shot
Subscriber
 
should_be_shot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lincoln, United Kingdom
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Script Editor

Sorry to bother you again can you give me some directions on the Script editor as I have no experience using that part of the program
__________________
Ignorance is bliss
should_be_shot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 05:45 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

ok you can open the script editor by clicking on the square box at the bottom right of the UI (the one with 3 lines and the top area filled in in black)
If you click on convert polygon to subd and look in the editor it should give you some info.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 09:56 AM   #5
should_be_shot
Subscriber
 
should_be_shot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lincoln, United Kingdom
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Result

Cheers jsprogg,

The script editor said I had some problem with nonmanifold geometry I didn't have a clue what that meant so I had a search around and found a YouTube video that gave examples. I'll include the link below so if anyone else out there is a noob like me they'll be pointed in the right direction. Using the clean up editor with the nonmanifold option checked helped me find where this error was occurring although it didn't fix the problem. It seemed the problem was where the cuffs joined the hands and arm. With a little bit of re-thinking I remodeled that area and everything is now fine.

Cheers again mate

Nonmanifold geometry
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wa75X4QhIcQ
__________________
Ignorance is bliss
should_be_shot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.