Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-10-2008, 11:56 PM   #1
astrocalder
Registered User
 
astrocalder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default [help] polygon subdivisions

okay I screwed myself by somehow changing settings in Maya 2008 - it used to be I would create a polygon sphere, for example, with 20 divisions width and height. Then I would adjust the divisions in the attribute editor accordingly, if the shape called for more or less divisions. But now the tab that let me add divisions is gone, and I don't know what I did to make it dissappear. How can I open this tab up to manually add divisions again?

I know when creating polygons there's an option to add divisions, but without the ability to tweak divisions once the polygon's made it's a pain...

I checked the "adjust subdivisions" tab under "after creation settings" when creating a new polygon, but this doesn't seem to change anything, even after quitting out and restarting. Sure sounds right though...

image attached for where tab used to be... thanks for any input.
Attached Thumbnails
 
astrocalder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 03:08 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

think you've switched off construction history by the looks of it.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 12:11 PM   #3
astrocalder
Registered User
 
astrocalder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ahhhh thank you that was it. Sure enough there was a red X over construction history in the status bar.

Man, one wrong click in Maya can screw everything up...

This article was helpful if anyone else has the same problem -

http://www.peachpit.com/articles/art...83770&seqNum=7
astrocalder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 12:42 PM   #4
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

This should be made sticky, it must have been asked about 5 times in the last week......
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 02:01 PM   #5
astrocalder
Registered User
 
astrocalder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The challenge with getting help in programs like Maya is knowing what question to ask. All you really need is a keyword - in this case "construction history" - and you can find an answer. But without knowing how to articulate the question (knowing what keyword to search for) all we can do is describe the problem and hope someone knows what we're asking.

Making stickies for common problems is a great idea, but knowing what your problem is is the challenge...
astrocalder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 02:50 PM   #6
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by elephantinc
This should be made sticky, it must have been asked about 5 times in the last week......
Isn't that what FAQ is all about?
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 12:52 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by BennyK
Isn't that what FAQ is all about?
Benny
Yeah,

Unfortuantly I dont think it would help really, not pointing fingers but new users post before looking, think its just human nature.

Just go with the flow.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 02:45 AM   #8
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Yeah,

Unfortuantly I dont think it would help really, not pointing fingers but new users post before looking, think its just human nature.

Just go with the flow.
I disagree. I looked in FAQs before I even signed up to ask my first question.
Though I have to say It would help a lot to have more organized FAQ (also applies for the Tips&Tricks in Maya Chat)
so you don't have to do all that useless reading in between.

Originally posted by Jay in Resource Lounge> ***PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING***
Also if you do answer a post, try and add a link as you go it will then save on wasting the threads with 'thank you's' all the time, your 'resource' is your 'thank you'
I think this should apply to both FAQs and Tips&Tricks and anything else of this sort.
It would help at the moment to erase all the comments' posts...
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 04:20 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by BennyK
I disagree. I looked in FAQs before I even signed up to ask my first question.

I think the number of posts asking simple questions, like why boolians don work, etc etc shows that a lot of people dont read it.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 05:53 AM   #10
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
I think the number of posts asking simple questions, like why boolians don work, etc etc shows that a lot of people dont read it.
Without having the FAQ I imagine we would be having even more of those.
Besides, it's not just FAQ that can save unnecessary posts. A simple search in this forum can be quite useful (let alone Google).
Now that I think of it this forum should almost be abandoned
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 11:06 PM   #11
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

benny, you have to remember, not everyone is as patient as the people who actually take the time to go search for the answer

they want the answer "now", and starting a new thread to ask the question is likely to raise the response rate (no offence to anyone who does this)

on a forum i have i made a thread called FAQ, and the views it got was absolutely zilch...

i renamed it to something else and the views just shot up.

you're right about what you said about not having the faq and thus seeing more faq type posts.


astrocalder has a point though, where he said you have to know the specific name before you can find what's happening.
unless you've seen or heard of construction history before (which everyone should know from reading the in built tutorials... i'm guessing a few people dont read those because it involves reading :p)you wont know whats happening or how to fix the problem
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 02:06 AM   #12
astrocalder
Registered User
 
astrocalder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah I checked a Maya reference book I have and searched google, but not until I had a keyword did I really find what I was looking for. Because "polygon divisions Maya 2008" is too vague a search term to find anything.

Upon looking through the FAQ (after the fact) I noticed someone had the same problem, but called it history, while I was looking for subdivisions (not realizing it's part of the history) -

Q : My history dose not show up, after i have done a mesh tool modification? (or like you cant switch back to 0 in the polysmoothnode

A: This can be modified by typing in the command line the following info.

constructionHistory -tgl on;

This toggles the history construction back on.
So if I had read the FAQ I still wouldn't have known the answer to my question was right there.
Sometimes it really helps to ask someone... not because of laziness, but because someone more skilled than you can probably understand what you're asking, better than a search engine or manual. It's because of forums like this, where people are willing to help each other out, that I've been able to learn anything at all really. I try to repay the favor by answering questions too... only thing is I don't know most of the answers...
astrocalder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 03:26 PM   #13
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

In an ideal world before asking we would all check the FAQ to see if the question has been answered
but in an ideal world pacifism and Communism would work so......
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:13 PM   #14
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by elephantinc
In an ideal world before asking we would all check the FAQ to see if the question has been answered
as was said before, unless you know what you're looking for or the correct terminology you wont find the answers
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:44 PM   #15
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

I agree,
no harm is done, end discussoin, thread is far too long for its worth?

No need to have a go at the poor fellow, doesnt need to defend himself.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.