Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-10-2008, 08:06 PM   #16
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
by the looks of things its all just html text

the names of the icons appears in the alt label (i dont know what they are called... i just remember writing in links alt = <name that appears when you mouse over>)

although the entire front page is just a picture

maybe your computer is broken :p

I think the site uses tool tips (that's what "area title" is right) and they do show up after a second or so... I guess I was too impatient to wait... If this is the case, IMHO wouldn't it be more fancy to code it so the title appears over the icon as soon as the mouse goes over it?
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 09:01 PM   #17
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

go back in time and re-write the way html works? :p

i didn't think it was something that could be changed (but then my html is 5 years out of date)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 09:23 PM   #18
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol!

What I meant was, isn't there this HTML thingy where you can overlay an image with another when the mouse cursor is on something?

Mouse cursor over Maya icon --> Maya icon is overlaid with semi-transparent pic saying "Maya" and what it is...

Or do they do that through JavaScript?
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 10:26 PM   #19
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

rollover images?
yeah javascript only (at least 5 years ago it was)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2008, 11:24 PM   #20
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone
rollover images?
yeah javascript only (at least 5 years ago it was)
Yeah, rollover images, that was what I was thinking.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2008, 02:32 AM   #21
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

im now officially confused
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2008, 02:39 AM   #22
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, what I'm saying is that maybe if the site used JavaScript to display an image over the icons near the lower right corner containing the software name and short decription, it might be better than using "tool tips"...

Or is my computer broke and I am missing something?

Or am I just more confusing now?
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2008, 07:45 AM   #23
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

BTW are you supposed to write your CV in the 3rd person?
I would have things like the fact you won an award for best student more prominent


oh and incidentally ive been working on a new design for my site http://elephantentertainment.110mb.com/ (this is not my main domain, just the test one) let me know of youre having any problems with it in a particular browser (BTW the links DO NOT work at the moment)

:p
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2008, 09:32 AM   #24
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

nice job laurie - your site looks cool - and i still like your neurons film.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2008, 10:50 AM   #25
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

elephantic, its perfectly fine to write in third person, best student award isnt as huge a deal as it sounds.

and ty arran
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2008, 12:02 PM   #26
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

elephantinc stop trying to hijack to thread :p (kidding)

it's funny because in your test site the adds loaded long before the pictures.
but maybe that's just your host's fault
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2008, 12:19 PM   #27
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

It probably is

but the images might be big as well cos im still playing around
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2008, 12:22 PM   #28
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

its 800 pixels across, around standard. The issue would be how its constructed, ill rehash it togeather once i get time.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2008, 04:55 AM   #29
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Nice going on the site Laurie, looks nice so far...

Crits would be,

On the front page, you may need to reword the first paragraph intro i think. It sounds a bit odd when it just says, "I live in London". Maybe try kick in at the start of the sentence as, "Currently living in London and have graduated with a ETC".

Another thing with the CV is, you sure you want to state your exact address in there? you never know but there are pyscho's out there I would have gone with saying, suburb/city. Up to you though man...

And also you might want to post up a bit more work i think.


Anyways, i hope this helped abit. Cheeeeeeers.

- Marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2008, 08:45 AM   #30
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i just realised marlon is right

oh yeah, and i noticed a date of birth, i hear that's also a bad thing to put on the cv cuz of prejudice reasons again

i read in some article from siggraph that you should put the version of the software you know
like Maya 8.5, Lightwave 7, XSI 7

...i thought you were older than 21 :p
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.