Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-01-2009, 02:39 PM   #1
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default My old man

this is a WIP i will try to do over the next week or so. I noticed lots of people doing heads and what not, so because i want to learn more zbrush and i've never done a head before (actually i've done one male head, but this is unaided). here goes...

yesterdays work.






reference:
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 03:00 PM   #2
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hammer Horror

Good job so far. My only crit is would be to remove a loop or 2 around the mouth area. It doesnt need too many there, and if you are juming into Zbrush you dont want overcrowding in one area, as it could end up becoming lumpy in the sculpt.

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 03:09 PM   #3
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

thanks jay, i was becoming aware of the mouth area having too many edge loops and i found a couple i could delete.

Also do you smooth the model in maya and then export it or do you just sub-divide it in zbrush from base mesh?

Last edited by honestdom : 08-01-2009 at 03:13 PM.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 03:18 PM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Best do it in Zb mate. That way your base mesh will still be accessible as well if you feel you need to tweak verts in Zb as well.

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 05:22 PM   #5
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Hi Hammer

I think it needs some more work before going to ZBrush :p
As Jay said the edgeloops around the mouth are to much but also the edgeflow on the browridge needs some refinement

I would line your sourceimages up in maya and draw some refference curves so your model will have round edgeflows instead of harsh corners around the face also try to even out the size of your quads, by better distributing your edgeloops.
I like the way how you go around the ear btw it's a great way of avoiding triangles in that area.

mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 08:28 PM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

thanks for you advice Mastone, but i kinda feel using curves on a head model is a pretty out dated way of doing things. I saw a head modeling tutorial that built up a head with curves or whatever and it looked rubbish! I prefer the single poly method.

As far as the edge flow goes, I checked it and it all works fine.
(you can check your edge flow by selecting the edge and then pushing the up arrow on the keyboard. you can then cycle through the edge loops or if you want a better view of it you can hold ctrl and drag the mouse down to convert to faces.)

As for Zbrush my first head model was nothing more than an egg on a stick


fair enough it looks kinda weird, but thats just cos i never finished it. So you can import your model at any stage into ZBrush.... Well thats what i've been led to believe.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 10:26 PM   #7
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

nice job - the only thing that looks a bit off to me is the side of the forehead - i just looks a little shallow and off in that area.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 06:47 PM   #8
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

update



honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 11:26 AM   #9
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

when i import my reference image to zbrush i do the crop and fill bit to get it to fit the window. then i draw my head on the canvas and hit t but i cant move the head about. did i miss something out?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 02:18 PM   #10
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

started zbrushing

honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.