Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-03-2009, 01:56 AM   #1
Posts: n/a
Default Rotate screwing up

Hey guys,

Got a quick problem… I'm trying to rotate an object, and instead of regularly rotating it, it's rotating it and skewing it at the same time.

Have no idea how this happened and I've never seen it before, but it's annoying me. lol

-Steven Palmesano
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 02:14 AM   #2
Rhetoric Camel
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts

Alright I had this problem before but I'm not completely sure I remember how I fixed it, I believe it's under the camera attribute editor and it was something like the focal length being set to some odd number, it should be at 35

if thats not it sorry, I will try to remember what else it could have been.
- Mike
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 02:52 AM   #3
Posts: n/a

No, it has to do with objects, not the camera. And it's only a couple of them which is odd.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 02:57 AM   #4
Gen's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,448
Thanks: 13
Thanked 634 Times in 557 Posts

You may have some objects double grouped.
Gen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 04:38 AM   #5
The Nurb Herd
honestdom's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts

or change your rotate tool to world space or object space or whatever... you can break the rotate tool with about 3 rotates but i cant remember how
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 12:16 AM   #6
Posts: n/a

Originally posted by GecT
You may have some objects double grouped.
Thanks, it was that… haven't used Maya for a while so I couldn't figure it out. lol
  Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.