Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-03-2009, 09:18 PM   #1
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default Vista hates maya

Hi guys,
I recently bought a laptop with vista home premium, 2gb ram and an integrated GMA 4500 graphics card. I installed Maya 8.5 on it. Now I am having problems.
-First I cannot use the hypershade and graph editor windows because they are grayed out.
- I disable some features in the compatability tab of the icon. It seem to work, now every time I close the Graph Editor or Hypershade window, it screws up with all the view panels.
I will have to toggle through all the custom panel layouts before I hit the one the brings back my panels.
This is very annoying for it means that I can only do modeling on that machine.

I also find it odd because with my old laptop that ran Windows XP with 512mb of ram and an intergrated GMA 900 Graphic card Maya 8.5 runs without any technical issues at all.

Vista does not seem to like it very much.
Is there anything I can do to get Maya working properly with vista? Is Vista even the problem?
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 09:21 PM   #2
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Vista

Hiya,

First thing to do is turn off / disable Aero. Are you running 32 or 64 bit? Have you got stable video drivers?

-Jacques
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 09:30 PM   #3
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Thanks for the assistance.
I think I have vista 32bit and I updated the video card drivers but maya still behaves the same way.
Is there a patch out there for something like this?
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 11:15 PM   #4
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Here is a screen shot of how it looks when I close the hypershade, then (minimize and maximize).

Last edited by RockyMills_01 : 17-04-2013 at 01:04 AM.
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 11:18 PM   #5
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

another set of blank panels.

Last edited by RockyMills_01 : 17-04-2013 at 01:04 AM.
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2009, 02:16 PM   #6
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I'm not sure it's a vista problem because I have Vista Home premium and I didn't have any issues like that running 8.5. I have an nVidia graphics card though.

There's an 8.5 service pack 1 on www.autodesk.com website that you can download and install, maybe that will fix your problem. You will need to uninstall your version of 8.5 (but not the documentation) because sp1 is the full version. It's just the full versions with the patches built into it.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2009, 04:05 PM   #7
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

I also installed Maya 6 and it too had the same problems. but I'll try installing the service pack for Maya 8.5 and see if that helps.

Thanks
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2009, 10:48 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Looks more to me like its the GFX card (or intergrated in this case) rarther than the OS. Maya is quite picky when it comes to GFX and can throw random problems.

Also have a look on Autodesks qualified hardware (not for the card) as sometimes they have work arounds for problems.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 10:39 PM   #9
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Hey guys,
I solved my problem. I took me laptop to a technician and he told me that Vista was the culprit. So I downgraded back to windows xp. Now all my Maya programs work flawlessly.

Thanks for all the help though.
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 10:28 AM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I'm on vista and have no problems at all.

strange.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 04:42 PM   #11
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Vista and maya has always been fine for me too.

With major problems of any kind in maya I usually find a re-install of maya works.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 07:47 PM   #12
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

My problems using vista was both maya 6 and 8.5 were giving my grayed out screens
2/ Toon Boom Studio was not saving any of my work
3/ Final Draft was refusing to save PDF files
4/ My Graphics tablet was not working properly

ALL problems fixed when I rolled back to XP!
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2009, 09:44 AM   #13
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Take heart! Vista is like the Windows 98 Millenium addition (remember that cough cough OS). Millenium was more like a VIRUS then an operating system and was the final nail in the coffin for Windows 98.

Within the year windows 7 will be coming out and Microsoft will try to pretend Vista never existed lol.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.