Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-04-2009, 03:06 PM   #61
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Dango77
Though saying that I'm only at 163000 polys, so there's a lot more I can add...
well your doing something right if that`s the number of polys you got with that much detail.

Mines at the 1.4 million stage now - but not touched it in 3 days as I had to decorate the house while the girlfriend in Florida.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 03:35 PM   #62
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Tweetytunes: Well I hope the decorating went well then (no paint on the carpet,woodwork etc...lol)
I'm being as careful as I can with the polys this challenge, so thanks as I didn't know how well I was doing!
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 03:39 PM   #63
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

when you have to turn off everything but the layer your working on - you know that its time to stop and start texturing.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 04:36 PM   #64
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Good point Tweety, I'll keep that in mind!
Have got a little further, been finishing off the back end, which obviously doesn't get seen so wanted to get it out of the way, got to finish off the back end of the launch bays yet, but here's an updated render for now...
Attached Thumbnails
 
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 05:44 PM   #65
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Dango77

I'm being as careful as I can with the polys this challenge, so thanks as I didn't know how well I was doing!
why? I never understand why people are careful about how many polys they use.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 05:56 PM   #66
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

H.H: I just don't want to get to the point of having so many polys I can't add anything more, or add any more detail.
Also from what I've read online and in books it's good practice to keep your poly count low and still get a smooth, clean model. I could be wrong but it doesn't seem to make much sense having a billion polys if you can get the same results from one with far less.

Have just finished the back end shape off so I can finally post an image from another angle, a profile this time!
Attached Thumbnails
 
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 06:36 PM   #67
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

wow - nice job mate - this just keeps getting bigger and bigger (and better)

one thing i don't get tho, is how the pilots get from the small ships into the large ship, as on the second page it looked like their ships are only connected by the wings... unless, of course they... i guess.... teleported.

also - are you sure you're reading your polycount right? i'm kind of finding it hard to believe this is so low - you know, with all of those tiny ships and everything else...
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 06:47 PM   #68
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Hey Arran, thanks for the comments!

The grubs get into the ships inside the back part and the pod ships are loaded into the launcher on a track that comes out from inside, I did a little explanation image for you!

As for the poly count, I'll take that as a compliment,I'll post an image in a sec...
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by Dango77 : 16-04-2009 at 06:53 PM.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 06:49 PM   #69
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Poly count from screen shot...
Attached Thumbnails
 
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 07:26 PM   #70
oldhippie_tom
Subscriber
 
oldhippie_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Dango, you are really blowing me away!! This is so very good!! And just gets better every time you post. Nice poly count also, you are using your head when it comes to that!!

Silly question? Are ya having fun!!! ;-)
__________________
Challenge me and I will try. Because If I should fail, failure also has a prize (Knowledge).
oldhippie_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 07:49 PM   #71
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Looking really really good. I really like the shape your ship is taking. And I don't think every surface necessarily has to be full of detail. I think large smooth surfaces look good too, as long as they fit with the overall design, so it's looking good
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 07:57 PM   #72
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Tom: Lol! Yep, I'm most definitely having fun! Thanks for your kind words, I'll do my best to keep improving!

Stwert: Thanks for your comments too!
I'm inclined to agree with you when it comes to the large areas not needing so much detail, and when it comes to doing the texturing I can always add in the subtle details of dirtmaps, paneling etc anyway.
But I'll see where it takes me, I want to do the areas I know will have modeling detail first, then see how it looks.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 10:10 PM   #73
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

326969 is your poly count

you count triangles not faces, because faces are split into triangles which are your polygons

are you almost done with the modeling? i should finish mine at some point...........
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 10:42 PM   #74
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Chirone

you count triangles not faces, because faces are split into triangles which are your polygons

are you almost done with the modeling? i should finish mine at some point...........
Thats not teck correct. A poly is any surface with a normal

Only game engines counts tris as polys. Just look at Zbrush/mudbox - that also counts quads as polys
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2009, 10:49 PM   #75
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tweetytunes
Thats not teck correct. A poly is any surface with a normal

Only game engines counts tris as polys. Just look at Zbrush/mudbox - that also counts quads as polys
Arrgh! So which is best to go with?!
I originally was counting quads as polys for the whole "Zbrush and other Programs" not liking tri's reason, and thought that they were generally considered Polys, I am now still as unsure as I was to start with!

Anyhow, I've been doing a bit more detailing and here's a render of what it's looking like at the moment.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.