Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-05-2009, 06:24 AM   #1
iamcreasy
Registered User
 
iamcreasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Posts: 168
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default trangles >>> quads...

I have a obj model.Now i need to import it in maya and add detail and to create normal map.

But the thing this model is created in max and when i open it's obj format in maya then the model is triangulated.So the model looks very messy.When i try to add bevel the edges then i get unexpected result.

SO, i wnt to convert this mode's triangular formation to quads.I have tried the Mesh > quadrungulate.It does not work.But i need quads for smooth and better workflow.

The model is attached.So wht can i do to have the model in quads formation????

One more thing, if there is anyway to have the object directly in quads frm 3ds max.Like using the fbx file format.I tried it in blender but the triangles remains.So any specific option or file format that can preserve the model in quad???
Attached Files
File Type: mb m16 magazine.mb (89.7 KB, 49 views)
iamcreasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 06:51 AM   #2
harry98941
Registered User
 
harry98941's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: bombay
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Layout the Uvs For the Magazine in Max And Then Export the Obj to Maya . try it................
__________________
maya
harry98941 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 08:08 AM   #3
iamcreasy
Registered User
 
iamcreasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Posts: 168
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

hmm...when converting to FBX(frm max) i turned off the "Split per-vertex Normals".

Then when i imported the fbx to maya.It was still triangle.But now when i Mesh > quadrangulated the object most of it turned into quad!!!But still not all of them(file attached).

Can anyone give my any explanation? or any better pipeline to do this?

Cause there is lots of triangles still needed to be manually converted to quads!...quadrangulate is not working more then once.What can i do??

in the file.zip...both max and quad converted mb file is attached!

EVEN i tried DXF conversion.But it shows me the same result.Some of the model still remains in tries.
Attached Files
File Type: zip files.zip (19.2 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by iamcreasy : 23-05-2009 at 08:13 AM.
iamcreasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 10:32 AM   #4
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

The model itself probably has bad topology, (NGons which most of the time result in a quad and a triangle) if i have time i will take a look at your model
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 11:11 AM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Here is your model quadrated. I fix some edges now the loops seems to be fixed If i missed something i'm sorry :p


pipeline : I've open the 1st model you attach.
The problem was that when you export you set to export triangulated mesh, then i simply go into maya and select the object go into the mesh menu and hit convert to quads ( i think that was the name not sure ). After that i cleaned some of the edges and here you go
Attached Files
File Type: mb fixed m_16.mb (96.0 KB, 27 views)
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 10:00 PM   #6
iamcreasy
Registered User
 
iamcreasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Posts: 168
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

If u have opened the first MB file attached to the first post then the mesh>quad were not suppose to work!

BUT I HAVE FOUND A WAY TO MAKE IT WORK VERY
EFFICIENTLY!

switching off the "Split per-vertex Normals" while exporting to FBX.Then after exporting maya u have to CLEANUP the model(i did it with the default settings).Then after deleting history i hit the mesh>quad.............I WORKED AS I WANTED!!

as mastone said some weird part remains where n-gons is present.But before the cleanup and deleting history the actuals quads(in MAX) were not successfully converted to quads is maya.

u can have a look of the model attached.(this was done without any manual effort.Where only four corners requires modification.Because they were 6 side in MAX).All the other were perfectly converted to QUADS!
Attached Files
File Type: mb temp.mb (77.8 KB, 25 views)
iamcreasy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.