Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-06-2009, 09:26 AM   #1
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default Maya Edges problem, appear in object mode

that is very annoying thing to me, the edges , when I add edges or work with edges, the edges appear in object mode, cant really deselect them, anyone knows how this problem accrued? please Advice , here is the images
Attached Thumbnails
 
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 06:55 PM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

I don't know what causes this problem, but it has happened to me before.... and still does. Just go back into edge mode, and select a whole bunch of edges randomly (including the edges that are defective) then simple deselect them. Now when you go back into object mode it should be fine. At least that's how it works for me.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 05:45 AM   #3
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

thanks for replay, I know that, that is what I am doing every time, but it is very irritating when I work with edges for long period, scale and extrude them, so it is bit annoying, that must be some solution, does anyone know something

if you know something please say something
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:47 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Its actually a known bug, save and reopen the file.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:41 PM   #5
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Yeah, I have this problem as well. One way you could get around it is by making a mel script that will select all edges, then deselect all edges. Then bind that to a hot key. Far from intuitive, but it works.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 02:43 PM   #6
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

tanks for replay guys, but everytime I can not go to component mode and select all edges and deselect them again, this is to much work and hasselt, specially when I am working on charchter modeling, mostly I am working with edges , extrude the edges is the tool that I am using most of the time, happened only with edges,

that must be some why to get ride of this problem,
anymore opinion volk?

tnx
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 03:14 PM   #7
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Not that I have come across. This seems to be a problem with Maya's core selection, not with a some settings. I guess we just have to wait it out.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 03:47 PM   #8
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

export as obj then re-import
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:13 PM   #9
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Originally posted by vladimirjp
export as obj then re-import
That won't help, as when he's working on it again, it will continue doing it.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:23 PM   #10
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

TBH, it's not that bad of an issue, and at most it takes 3 secs to correct it... I just ignore it.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2009, 05:56 AM   #11
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I know its takes 3 sec to fix it, but I work with alot of edges, that is means that every time I select the next edge I should spend 3 sec to fix it, I have 1200 edge to extrude, so how much time I need to fix it?


any idea?

:headbang:
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2009, 04:34 PM   #12
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

As I posted above. Create a mel script, and then bind it to a hotkey.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 05:42 AM   #13
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

@ next design, I am not really good in mel script, dont know really how, so if you can explain or any link, tutorial that how you make mel script that will be very helpful and fantastic

thanks
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 03:56 PM   #14
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

I'll take a look into it for you.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign : 27-06-2009 at 03:53 AM.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2009, 08:28 AM   #15
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this z d problem evry1 facing in maya,my faculty said that d mayaniac 3sec. tip.hu.......ofcourse all r ignoring d problem........
hmmmm,mee too don't know about mel script,plz any1 show me how 2 play with mel script for beginners......
10q.....
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.