Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-09-2009, 09:51 PM   #1
jaymin1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dragunov SVD

Hey Guys,

Started Working On Dragunov SVD..
From Some Days...
And Here Are The Images Of How Far I Got...
Post Any Advise That You Think Can Be Helpfull...
Thank You...

One More Question
how to render like ColdWave Did Here?
http://srv01.simply3dworld.com/attac...&postid=294420

Many People Render in those Shade and also look good i just did mine with lights in all 4 side not top/bottom or do you guys do it with Plug-in? srry im new to maya..














Main Reference Image




Tx
jaymin1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 07:44 AM   #2
jaymin1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up :)

Some Details Added...
And Do You Guys Think Is It Going To Get Somewhere? Because Already Got 14K Poly Faces Is That Good Or Bad? My Computer Is Taking It Easily...

Also I Heard That When You Get Triangle in Modeling Its Bad Most Of The Time? If Ya Why Is That?



:attn:


Last edited by jaymin1992 : 05-09-2009 at 07:50 AM.
jaymin1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:23 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

model is looing pretty sweet

the renders that coldwave does are called ambient occlusion renders.
you can either use the render layers to get it or assign a mia_amb_occlusion node in the textures tab of the mental ray nodes in the hypershade (you need to switch to them in the panel on the left)

you can only do it with raytracing because it relies on it (if it doesn't make sense then find out what ambient occlusion means and what ray tracing is and all will be clear)

14k triangles isn't much, but if you plan to put this in an animation then for what it is it's probably getting on the high end and so you'd fake a bit of the details with texture/bump/normal/displacement mapping, might be a bit advanced for your level though, but doing ambient occlusion renders shouldn't be.

triangles are generally not an ideal way to go but it's not totally harmful and it won't muck up your renders unless you've got them oddly placed. in the end it's just the end result that matters.
for a hard surface model, since it doesn't deform like organics n-sided faces with n > 4 it shouldn't matter too much, but if you get weird gradients in your renders then it's sometimes because you've an n-sided face that isn't planar
quads (4 sided faces) seem to make for better deformations when soft or rigid skinning and it's a lot easier to determine what the toplogy (edge flow) is.

you should show some shots of the wireframe if you're unsure.
click shading > wireframe on shaded then take a screen shot and crop and resize the image
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 10:18 AM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

actually i don't think thats an occlusion render. I think its just a render with the environment set to white.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 10:37 AM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Originally posted by hammer.horror
actually i don't think thats an occlusion render. I think its just a render with the environment set to white.
It's actually occlusion but with low settings.

Here is a tutorial of AO render - > http://www.game-artist.net/forums/vb...e&articleid=17
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 10:39 AM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

cool
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 04:48 PM   #7
jaymin1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol that AO thing was easy i think i had tried to find it hard i would had figured it out most like would had taken whole day lol

tx for great tutorial...updates are on their way...

Last edited by jaymin1992 : 05-09-2009 at 04:59 PM.
jaymin1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 05:57 PM   #8
jaymin1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AO set up complete that was easy with tutorial but with out it O_0 impossible i think for me becz i have never got into mental ray yet... i will l8ter but for sure :attn:

edited

is there a way to fake it? it takes a lot of time to render...

Last edited by jaymin1992 : 05-09-2009 at 06:11 PM.
jaymin1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 06:04 PM   #9
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Glad i helped
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 06:32 PM   #10
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Originally posted by jaymin1992
AO set up complete that was easy with tutorial but with out it O_0 impossible i think for me becz i have never got into mental ray yet... i will l8ter but for sure :attn:

edited

is there a way to fake it? it takes a lot of time to render...
This is "the faking it way" at least if you baked al the maps which you probably haven't since your model is still a w.i.p.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 06:48 PM   #11
jaymin1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so if i bake the mpa it would be faster but i shouldn't since its not done yet right? and
How to remove the extra unwanted details that mental ray gives?

jaymin1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 11:50 PM   #12
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

uuhh, what more do you need to know than switching the renderer over to mental ray for an AO render?
it's not like it relies on final gather or global illumination or caustics


anyway, that funkyness that you've circled i think is caused by the way your model was made

the edges are probably in funky places
show us a screen shot of the wire
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 12:21 AM   #13
jaymin1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ya i see it now i got to clean them up because with software render i cant see it but with mental ray now i can so i have to fix it i guess...

srry cant put wireframe right now becz in middle of modeling

i will when im done with the part of it

tx

edit;;

I think for Mental ray if will be good if i only know AO because i will learn mental ray in deep later from begging...

Last edited by jaymin1992 : 06-09-2009 at 12:26 AM.
jaymin1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 01:28 AM   #14
jaymin1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here are wire frames and

http://i670.photobucket.com/albums/v...creenShot1.jpg

Here is side view (wireframe)

http://i670.photobucket.com/albums/v...ScreenShot.jpg

Some New images Here





jaymin1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 07:27 AM   #15
jaymin1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

jaymin1992 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.