Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-10-2009, 10:53 PM   #1
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default ambient Occlusion

How do I get an ambient occlusion render from maya 2010?

I select the ambient occlusion checkbox in the mental ray features tab but I don't see an ambient occlusion render anyplace?

I want to do an ambient occlusion render and use the result as an overlay to the texture map in photoshop as shown in several tutorials I have seen. They all show the resulting output in photoshop but just ASSUME everyone knows how to get the magical mystical AO render!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2009, 11:26 PM   #2
septopus
yes...you dont sound not non double negative
 
septopus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

you want to do an ambient occlusion pass then.

its not the same as the tick box in the MR option.
__________________
level 3 luchador!

image dump
septopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2009, 02:12 AM   #3
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Here's how I do it in 2009, hopefully it's the same for 2010.

1. Create a new render layer and add all your objects to it.
2. Right click on the layer and select Attributes
3. Once the attribute editor opens up, you should see a button labeled "Presets" Click on the button and select occlusion.
4. Now render it out.

Just make sure you have Mental Ray selected as the renderer.

To make changes to the occlusion...
1. Window > Render Editor > Hypershade
2. In the hypershade, you should see a solid black surface shader. Double click on it to open it's attributes.
3. In the attribute editor, you should see a tab with ?_amb_occlusion1. Click that tab.
4. Now you can increase the samples (for better render). YOu can adjust the brightness and so forth. Just play around with the options to get a feel for what they do.

Good luck
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2009, 02:20 PM   #4
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Worked like a charm!

Thanks!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2010, 12:33 PM   #5
mantoo
Registered User
 
mantoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Great nice :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn:
mantoo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.