Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-11-2009, 02:34 AM   #1
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default spheres

I was browsing through some links the other day and came upon Richard Rosenman's website: http://www.richardrosenman.com/
and saw his sphere projects and thought i'd do something similar. these are not entirely done, and still could use some work, mostly the first and last one.
the first one is pretty washed out and i don't know how to fix it without re rendering. as for the sand one, i plan on adding a pile of sand on the ground and have streams of sand coming off of it if i can. the water one is mostly done, the only thing i might add would be caustics if i had the time to render them in.





mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 04:20 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Are you going to take the displacement route on the sandball because right now it's looks more like an ice cream cone or part of another delicious treat. Also, I think the arbitrary lighting is working against you, it created overexposed areas, blobby shadows(your objects look like they're floating) and it flattened the background. Though, some of the spots look like an FG issue, might want to push FG filter up to 1 or even 2. Happy shading and stuff
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 07:23 PM   #3
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i already have a displacement map on the sand one, but its hard to see. i wish i had a seamless sand texture as my ripples are way too big.
i also do need to up the FG and maybe change the backdrop's material to something with more depth to it.
thanks for the pointers, i'll continue to work on it.
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2009, 07:35 PM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

its a cool project, you should download the scene file tho. (I was just reading the rules on that website)
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2009, 02:59 AM   #5
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

theres scene files to download? totally missed those
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2009, 10:47 AM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

yeah go to the top right of the project tab.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 02:50 AM   #7
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, i downloaded the scene files, but now my transparency wont work. i imported my water sphere and the transparency refuses to work. i tried everything from changing the lights and excluding the sphere from shadows to uping my raydepths. i am at a loss at why this wont work. i'm using maya 8.5 unlimited.
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 04:39 AM   #8
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Is it all refractive surfaces or just that one shader?
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 06:33 AM   #9
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i tried both the ocean material and a mia_material with the standard thick glass preset. both render solid, the water looks like the shader does without transparency and the mia_material renders black, reflections work fine. also the shadows from the whale in the water work fine, so light is going through. =\ i have no idea what is going on.
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 12:21 PM   #10
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

what are your raytrace settings?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 02:46 PM   #11
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Works ok for me.



Check these things:

1. Raytace render settings
2. Shader's raytrace limit
3. If you're using FG check the FG trace settings.

And I think this may be your problem right here.


4. If you're using an obj import, check the shape tab of the objects and see if "visible in reflections", "visible in refractions" is checked on.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 05:49 PM   #12
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it works just fine in my 32 bit version of maya 8.5, but not the 64bit. it could be that because i copied my render preset from the 32bit to the 64bit something got lost or not connected. i may just recreate them in the 64bit version and try that.
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2009, 08:13 PM   #13
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

That just sounds really weird. If you want you could post the scene or mail it to me or something, you got me all curious and stuff lol.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2009, 03:04 AM   #14
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I thought i had fixed it by upping the tracedepths on *everything* but to no avail.

i'm uploading the file now.
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2009, 03:05 AM   #15
mtnhome3d
Registered User
 
mtnhome3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, here's the file. sorry for resorting to mediafire, but the uploader here is kinda limited =\
http://www.mediafire.com/?mcmwdy5zmem
mtnhome3d is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.