Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-11-2009, 09:50 PM   #1
bcmSJS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Maya 2009 Complete freezes computer

Sometimes when I work in Maya, the program freezes not just Maya, but the whole computer itself. When Maya crashes, I have to shut down my computer and turn it on again. This at times can become very frustrating.

This recently happened today when I opened a scene that only had a plane, a sphere, and a volume light. It crashed when I tried to change the direction of the light. The only other program I had open was Safari at the time.

I have already tried creating a new "maya" folder, but this only minimizes the crashes, it does not get rid of them. Would I have to reinstall Maya again? Or are there other possible solutions that might fix this problem?

Thanks...
__________________
My specs:

Mac Pro 1,1 - Mac OS X 10.5.8
5 GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 2.67 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
ATI Radeon HD 4870
bcmSJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2009, 10:07 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I could be your hardware, run some tests. I suspect your video card.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2009, 11:08 PM   #3
bcmSJS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

Originally posted by GecT
I could be your hardware, run some tests. I suspect your video card.
That sounds like that might be a good idea. Do you have any suggestions for graphics card testing applications that would run on Mac OS X?
__________________
My specs:

Mac Pro 1,1 - Mac OS X 10.5.8
5 GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 2.67 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
ATI Radeon HD 4870
bcmSJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 06:52 AM   #4
iamcreasy
Registered User
 
iamcreasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Posts: 168
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

You can check out the autodesk's website, there are some specifications for maya.It might be helpful.
iamcreasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 03:24 AM   #5
bcmSJS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I looked at the Graphics Hardware Qualification for my computer and it turns out that my graphics card is supported with caveats, but my hardware is fully supported.

Also, the only caveat that they found in my card was that the "Wireframe may appear to draw thicker on G70 based cards". Hmmmm...
__________________
My specs:

Mac Pro 1,1 - Mac OS X 10.5.8
5 GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 2.67 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
ATI Radeon HD 4870
bcmSJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 05:52 AM   #6
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

I'm guessing that this is the mac pro?

That's very odd, but I doubt it's your video card if it's locking up like that. It could be a whole bunch of problems. Corrupted file tables, screwed up permissions, or even a hardware fault.

What you might want to do, is take a look at some system diagnostic tools, such as Techtool, or use Apple's own hardware diagnostic utilities from their website.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 07:50 PM   #7
bcmSJS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NextDesign
I'm guessing that this is the mac pro?

That's very odd, but I doubt it's your video card if it's locking up like that. It could be a whole bunch of problems. Corrupted file tables, screwed up permissions, or even a hardware fault.

What you might want to do, is take a look at some system diagnostic tools, such as Techtool, or use Apple's own hardware diagnostic utilities from their website.
You're correct, I do run a Mac Pro. Well, I ran TechTool Deluxe on it this morning for all the possible tests it offered and they all passed. So it probably could be bad permissions or corrupted file tables, but I'm not sure which files could be corrupted that Maya may be needing.
__________________
My specs:

Mac Pro 1,1 - Mac OS X 10.5.8
5 GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 2.67 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
ATI Radeon HD 4870
bcmSJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 02:28 AM   #8
bcmSJS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just pulled up my system.log file of the last time Maya crashed:

Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! status = 0xffff info32 = 0xd = GR: SW Notify Error
Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: 0000000c
Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: 00100000 00004097 0001b8d5 00000002
Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: 00028218 0000022c 00000000 00000002
Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: 00000000 beef9601 00000000
Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! status = 0xffff info32 = 0x3 = Fifo: Unknown Method Error
Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: 0000000b
Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! status = 0xffff info32 = 0x6 = Fifo: Parse Error
Nov 23 13:53:39 Macintosh kernel[0]: 0000000b
Nov 23 13:54:09: --- last message repeated 15 times ---

Maybe it could be my video card?
__________________
My specs:

Mac Pro 1,1 - Mac OS X 10.5.8
5 GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 2.67 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
ATI Radeon HD 4870
bcmSJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 03:53 AM   #9
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Post up the full file, and I'll take a look at it for you. From what I can see right now, yes. It seems to be your video card.

Another thing. Once it crashes, go to Applications>Utilities>Console.

This displays the dumped exceptions thrown when an application crashes, or just for information.

Copy the last bit about it, and post it up here as well. The crash log might leave out details.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2009, 06:00 PM   #10
bcmSJS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

I installed the Service Pack a1 for both Maya and the mental ray satellite. So far, it seems like this has solved the crashing problem (hopefully). I will try to post a log file if Maya does happen to crash again.

Thanks for the help guys.
__________________
My specs:

Mac Pro 1,1 - Mac OS X 10.5.8
5 GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 2.67 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
ATI Radeon HD 4870
bcmSJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2009, 08:59 PM   #11
bcmSJS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Crashes still happening :(

It actually turns out that the crashes are still coming back. Darn.

The good news, however, is that I am purchasing a new card -

the ATI Radeon HD 4870.

Hopefully this card will take care of this problem. Unfortunately I am not sure if this card is 100% compatible with Maya.
__________________
My specs:

Mac Pro 1,1 - Mac OS X 10.5.8
5 GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 2.67 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
ATI Radeon HD 4870
bcmSJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2009, 09:20 PM   #12
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Neither the Radeons nor the GeForce cards are officially supported by Autodesk, but they should work fine with a few minor drawing issues, such as viewing paintFX possibly. I have heard from a number of people that Geforce cards play nicer with Maya than ATI cards, but I can't really speak to that from personal experience.

Hope your problem gets resolved.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2009, 07:23 AM   #13
iamcreasy
Registered User
 
iamcreasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Posts: 168
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

GeForce is better then Radeon while using maya?...really...im going to buy 5770...but if something like that exists then...
iamcreasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2009, 11:10 PM   #14
bcmSJS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I use the Mac Pro 1,1 model and I have heard from many people that the Radeon HD 4870 works fine on these models.

The other option for my computer is to purchase the nVIDIA Quadro FX, but this card costs way too much for me at the moment. Another card, the ATI X1900 XT, I have heard can overheat (yikes!) and has caused several graphical issues that can heavily disrupt productivity.

Anyhow, I have my fingers crossed and hope this card will fix my problem!!
__________________
My specs:

Mac Pro 1,1 - Mac OS X 10.5.8
5 GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 2.67 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
ATI Radeon HD 4870
bcmSJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2009, 03:43 AM   #15
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default Re: Crashes still happening :(

Originally posted by bcmSJS
The good news, however, is that I am purchasing a new card -

the ATI Radeon HD 4870.
I use this card on my Mac Pro at work with Maya, and have no problems. (We're using bootcamped XP x64 too!)
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.