Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-11-2009, 04:32 AM   #1
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default Your computer Background

Just wondering what everyone has as there background. I loved when we used to have a thread like this.



This is mine: (scaled down, of course)
(Yes, it is french, and means: "You're a girl and I'm a Boy" (It's a quote from a song))
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 09:11 AM   #2
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

I have two screens - so mine`s alittle funny.

The car on the right is the best image I have ever seen of a car in 3d, and the girl is just plain cool
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 09:32 AM   #3
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is mine.........he he he
Attached Thumbnails
 
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 10:33 AM   #4
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

my oh my .......... 3ddon you get into alot of trouble

heres mine
Attached Thumbnails
 
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 11:57 AM   #5
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Here's mine. I thought of making it a gradient but the change of shade was too much to bare.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 05:48 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Hey tweety, I've been trying to figure out how to use two different backgrounds on my two monitors. Is that a 3rd party thing, or am I missing something obvious? Using Win 7 btw, if that matters.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 06:18 PM   #7
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I can't really post a screenshot of mine but I will say that I always use a render of the project I'm currently working on. Seeing it all the time (even when I'm not working on it) makes it easier the next time I do work on it because I'll already have in my mind how I'm going to do the next steps. Plus it helps me see things I want to add or change that I might not have seen otherwise.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 06:35 PM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Perfecto
I can't really post a screenshot of mine but I will say that I always use a render of the project I'm currently working on. Seeing it all the time (even when I'm not working on it) makes it easier the next time I do work on it because I'll already have in my mind how I'm going to do the next steps. Plus it helps me see things I want to add or change that I might not have seen otherwise.
Perfect idea... Thanks for the share
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 06:36 PM   #9
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

Originally posted by stwert
Hey tweety, I've been trying to figure out how to use two different backgrounds on my two monitors. Is that a 3rd party thing, or am I missing something obvious? Using Win 7 btw, if that matters.
I have complete confidence this will not work but....

wmsetbg -b "black" -a -S -w 0 image.jpg

i have jellyfish on my desktop.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 07:29 PM   #10
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Lol wow 3ddon what is happening there? :x

I had to re-post mine, the image was kinda wide.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 08:22 PM   #11
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

I go with the same thing as Perfecto, both my Pc's have recent projects on them. My Smiler is grinning at me on one and my Spaceship entry from one of the SM challenges on the other. Not going to see my work on many other screens otherwise! lol
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 10:12 PM   #12
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nice idea perfecto........
but in my case,I'll apply my recent finished work as a wallpaper,then my room mates,friends will comment on it,if really that scene/graphic design/cartoon needs more work,I'll do that and In next work I'll put those comments in my mind.........
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 11:37 PM   #13
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 478
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

I like the idea of using a scene as a background...but i think im gonna stick with the abstract backgrounds
Attached Thumbnails
 
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 12:36 AM   #14
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Ozgalis
I like the idea of using a scene as a background...but i think im gonna stick with the abstract backgrounds
psychedelic :p
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 12:40 AM   #15
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

psychedelic means........?
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.