Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-11-2009, 12:43 AM   #1
jjmacky88
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 61
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Mental Ray / Transparency

Okay, what I'm looking to do is create a black mesh waste basket. My problem is, the color black makes things transparent so the black mesh texture I'm using wont be seen.

If I wanted a white basket or a red basket, no problem works fine, but because the texture I want to use is black, against the black background it doesnt work. I'm sure there is a workaround, any ideas?

I'm using targas. Maya 2008 and I want to render it in Mental Ray.
jjmacky88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 01:30 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

If that's the case then you may need to adjust the colors to make a separate texture for transparency.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 01:34 AM   #3
jjmacky88
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 61
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply GecT. That was one of the things I tried doing. I tried inverting the colors and plugging that into the transparency and I did not have any luck. I think I tried every combination possible, but maybe I'm missing something.
jjmacky88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 05:19 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Worked fine for me. Personally, I would just use the mia_material and plug my transparency map into the cutout opacity channel (its in the advanced section).
Attached Thumbnails
 
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 05:39 AM   #5
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

You don't need to create another texture. Use the reverse utility node. Connect the out color of the texture to the input of the reverse node. Then the output to the transparency.
Originally posted by GecT
Personally, I would just use the mia_material ...
I don't think an mia material would be necessary for this application. The added complexity and features would probably go unnoticed.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign : 25-11-2009 at 05:43 AM.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 06:56 AM   #6
jjmacky88
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 61
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

GecT, wow, thank you for that! I will try it first thing tomorrow!
jjmacky88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 03:16 PM   #7
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NextDesign
You don't need to create another texture. Use the reverse utility node. Connect the out color of the texture to the input of the reverse node. Then the output to the transparency.
I don't think an mia material would be necessary for this application. The added complexity and features would probably go unnoticed.
Didn't even think of the reverse node as I don't use it a lot. But I have to disagree about the mia_mat comment. I consider it to be a general shader so I use it for pretty much everything, hence the "personally" preceding my statement, whether jjmacky88 was familiar with that shader or not, it was to let him know the option was there.


Originally posted by jjmacky88
GecT, wow, thank you for that! I will try it first thing tomorrow!

No problem. Let me know if it works out.:blush:
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 08:11 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by GecT
I consider it to be a general shader so I use it for pretty much everything.
Personally I agree.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 09:51 PM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Personally I agree.
That's my swiss army knife woot! Ok seriously, I have pies to bake.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 03:44 AM   #10
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

I stay away from them as I pretty much stick with software, and do a whole lot of tricks. I find it easier to control it that way. I can also submit it to a render farm without worrying about MR licenses. I also the find mia material more confusing, as well as slower to render.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 05:46 PM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If you submitting to a farm why would you be bothered about MR licences, surely its up to the company to provide the licences for you to use, IF they want you to use MR, if the company dosent want you to do the bulk of the work with MR then thats up to them, softwares your only option.

It's not that confusing, just spend a little time with it, the results IMO make it worth the little extra render time it takes.

Then again if you use software most of the time it wont really bother you with MR materials anyway.

I prefer to use MR over software, not that I cant use software I just find MR a lot more versatile, without needeing to resort to tricks.

On a side note if its not a mia I generally use blinn's for everything.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.