Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-12-2009, 12:33 AM   #1
Short_Jack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Export texture - an existing model

I am almost 70 and am trying my hand at character modeling for the first time,
so please excuse my ignorance in some of the technical matters.
I am learning as I am going.

I am trying to modify an existing game model in Maya 5.0 (5.1)
The model (a soldier) is in GM format with an existing .tga texture.
I convert the GM model to .obj and import it into Maya.

I add the texture - (using "file" calling in the original .tga texture) and apply it to the model.
It fits perfectly in all views.

I then do the modifications (which are minimal) just move some verts around.

Delete the history and save the scene.
Using a Maya plug-in, I use the vrml2 export and export the model to my model file.

I then take the exported model and convert it back to a GM format,
but when I add the texture, it is all over the place.

The texture is there and I can make it out -
but it is out of scale and in the incorrect positions.

I am wondering if the application of the texture in Maya is not as simple as it seems.
or if it just gets scrambled in the export process.
Or, perhaps I am missing a step.

Does anyone have any ideas?
Short_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:36 AM   #2
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Post a screenshot please


p.s You are 70 years old ? If that s o NICE!!!
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 02:06 PM   #3
Short_Jack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default


This is how he appears in Maya just prior to export.

And this is him after export back at game level just prior to putting to game.

This is him in game - Same character at various levels of promotion - Note model is flipped left to right in the game (which is normal) and these picture are after texturing with Gimp at the game level (local texturing can be done, but NOT model modification) before the one on the right is taken to Maya for modification.
Hope this helps.
Short_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 03:18 PM   #4
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Something is wrong with your texture.
Maybe it's flipped somehow ?
Or there are some problems with the skeleton i see that the arms are bend to the body but the skeleton is not ?
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 03:23 PM   #5
Short_Jack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ColdWave
Something is wrong with your texture.
Maybe it's flipped somehow ?
Or there are some problems with the skeleton i see that the arms are bend to the body but the skeleton is not ?
When "he" is originally received back after export from Maya as a vrl his arms are up.
It is the "local" translation program which puts the vrl (vrml) back to GM format which lowers the arms (this makes "him" ready for the game).
The animation works - so it appears just to be an export/texture issue (?)
Short_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 03:55 PM   #6
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

export texture issue for sure.
Check out if it is flipped ?
Is some of the RGB channels are inverted ... just check out all the options..
Other thing that appear in my mind are the Uv's ? Are they layed out ? As i see from the prespective i can tell that they are layed out but don't know for sure.
+ Check out the exporter settings. Or try google the export texture problem for the type of exported you are using
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 04:53 PM   #7
Short_Jack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Firstly, THANK YOU for taking your time with this.
Here is a picture of the UV Map from Maya just prior to export.

Please note:
I have moved the vertexes within the area circled in red on the model, but they haven't moved on the map (?) should that be ?
(I shortened his jacket - as you can see in the picture)

As to RGB values - where would I find these?
Short_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 05:37 PM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

The texture seems just fine... Well there is channel menu in Photoshop ... try to invert the channels and test by inverting each one ... or 2 .. make combination... I really don't know what the problem is ... the Uv's are just fine! If it's not from the channels it's from the exporter ... try some new exporter ? or search for some settings ?
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 06:24 PM   #9
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

It seems to be a problem with the exporter. One thing you can do, is go and download Blender. www.blender.org It's a free 3d program with many exporters. Import the modified object into Blender, then export it to your vrml format. Make sure it's VRML97, not 1.0 in your case.

Have you looked at this? http://robotsdontbleed.com/wacko/wak...nediting#TOC_8

Hope this helps.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 03:28 PM   #10
Short_Jack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry

Thanks ND,

Just to bring you up to speed - I have now worked out how to import vrml INTO Maya - so I tried that, but got the same results.

I tried 3D Max - but found that program to be far less intuitive on how to use the commands, so I gave up on that.
(Maya seems far easier to use).

I have tried to use Blender but the stupid program (or, stupid me) couldn't open the file in the first place :angery:

I will try it again (perhaps even reading the instructions this time).
This project is very important to me, not only for the game's sake, but if the younger members who play the game, see that an old codger like me can make models, they might be encouraged to have a go themselves.

I will let you know how I get on.

(P.S. very impressed by your page by the way).
(P.P.S. Inaz Dias visits our game forum on rare occasions and it was she who wrote the TOOL program which I use to try to finally convert the model back to the GM format).

Last edited by Short_Jack : 06-12-2009 at 03:31 PM.
Short_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 02:05 AM   #11
Short_Jack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well I tried Blender:
Exporting as VRML97 gave me an error report:
Duplicate Verts1: 'coord_myfile' could not be processed.

However I could export as VRML 1.0 and open the file in TOOL, but I got the dreaded "Texture Missing" in the hex file.
Short_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 03:04 AM   #12
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,994
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

What is the URL of your game site?
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 08:41 PM   #13
Short_Jack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ctbram
What is the URL of your game site?
It is a modding group based on the "out of the box"
game Pirates of the Caribbean having been given access to the source code as long as we don't sell anything we produce.
It also covers several other pirate games.
http://forum.piratesahoy.net//index.php?/index
To enter the real modding area though, you need to be a "modder" based on one's contribution to the game, and that comes only by invitation I'm afraid.
Short_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 12:37 AM   #14
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Short_Jack
However I could export as VRML 1.0 and open the file in TOOL, but I got the dreaded "Texture Missing" in the hex file.
Couldn't you point the hex to the texture via a hex editor?
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:18 AM   #15
Short_Jack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NextDesign
Couldn't you point the hex to the texture via a hex editor?
The good news is that I now have a texture of sorts - the dreaded message is gone - and i get the picture with the blue background (above).
The bad news (You knew there had to be bad news didn't you?) is that I don't know what I am doing as I don't know enough about modeling.

Doing a vrml export from Maya I get the model and the relevant part of the hex file (I think) says:
File1Material_0#"Hat_file1.tga#polySurface1Geopoin ts#ShL7_Rif77.tga# then I think it refers to the model(?)

# represents 00 the square block symbol - "hat" is the name I gave the model file.
ShL7_Rif77.tga is the actual texture for the model.

ShL7_Rif77.tga is in the same file as the model (Hat.gm)
BUT I "BELIEVE" that somehow Hat_file1.tga should be there as well.
But I don't know where to locate that file.

I don't know if I'm even on the right track here or not(?)
Short_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.