Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-12-2009, 03:49 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with Insert Edge Loop tool

First post here, hopefully picked the right forum to get some help!

Having a bit of trouble with the Insert Edge Loop tool. I've been fine with it up until now. Basically I'm modelling a knife, and I've made the handle already. I've extruded the blade from the handle. I'm trying to insert edge loops to give me points to manipulate to shape the blade properly, but the edge loop tool won't extend all the way across the blade. Instead it only goes to the next edge, like so:

(usually the green dotted line goes all the way over/around)

Any ideas? I've been pulling my hair out trying to get this sorted!

toddersby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2009, 04:09 PM   #2
The thin red line
daverave's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,468
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts

This happens to me when I have moved the mesh around a bit, to get round it I use the split poly tool to finish it of.............dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2009, 04:31 PM   #3
Technical Director
NextDesign's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts

Its because the edges are not continuous. Check to see if you have any floating vertices, or non-quad faces.

One way to get around this, is to use the cut faces tool. It doesn't care about topology.
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2009, 01:52 AM   #4
Registered User
effacer's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

non quad faces it is...
projects of my company
3D - project - disney diwali (india based company) - project - 2 medhak (Public Service Ad) - project - ace bank commercial - project - company Profile
2D - project - (a fren named jimmy)
effacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:15 PM   #5
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hide perspective cam (or the one you're looking through, if still doesn't work).

Added: oops This is for another problem - if green dotted line doesn't move after the mouse.

Last edited by ogurets : 11-01-2010 at 09:38 PM.
ogurets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 10:21 PM   #6
Registered User
Matt1882's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Matt1882 is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.