Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-12-2009, 03:03 AM   #1
usassg1124
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Spin Faces

Does anyone know how to add a "spin faces" MEL to Maya. I do not know anyhting about MEL. I downloaded something off of the Internet and it seems as if it works but it deletes the edge between the two faces that I select. I bought the Chef Ramsay tutorial and he uses it there but I cannot figure out how to add it and use it. Can anyone provide me with step by step instructions on how to add it and use it. Thanks
usassg1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to usassg1124 For This Useful Post:
Old 29-12-2009, 03:48 AM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

What do you mean by "Spin Faces"?

Reverse normals?
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Joopson For This Useful Post:
Old 29-12-2009, 04:47 AM   #3
usassg1124
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Apparently there is a way to select two polygon faces and switch them. I dont understand it but I have seen it done and cant figure out the way to do it or to add the MEL script.
usassg1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to usassg1124 For This Useful Post:
Old 03-01-2010, 08:17 AM   #4
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

This one? http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/do.../spin-faces--2
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NextDesign For This Useful Post:
Old 03-01-2010, 09:55 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

interesting...

Obsolete, there's now Poligons > Edit Mesh -> Flip Triangle Edge.
from the reviews tab...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chirone For This Useful Post:
Old 05-01-2010, 05:14 AM   #6
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

As he didn't post up the version he was using, I thought it to be safe.

Chirone, Never knew about that command. Thanks.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NextDesign For This Useful Post:
Old 05-01-2010, 06:15 AM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

fair enough!

i never knew about it either! i still haven't tried it out though...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chirone For This Useful Post:
Old 23-01-2010, 10:42 AM   #8
toteche
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Flip Triangle Edge working in different manner comparing to spinFaces MEL (at least in Maya 8.5). To install this Mel read short explanation by author here - http://www.knower.it/dblog/storico.asp?s=CG+-+Scripts
Also, there you can download latest version of this MEL
toteche is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to toteche For This Useful Post:
Old 16-05-2010, 11:22 PM   #9
banksta
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 364
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

open script editor and type in spinFaces with a capital F. hit execute in the command menu , It might give you a error if your using older versions but dont worry about that. at the top of the script editor you will see the word spinFaces;

Highlight that and in one of the drop down menus you will see save script to shelf, hit that it will ask you mel or python,choose mel. Then name the script spinfaces or what ever you like to remember it.

make sure you have put the spinfaces script you downloaded into your script folder beforehand for your version of maya or the instructions I gave you wont work.
banksta is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to banksta For This Useful Post:
Old 16-02-2014, 02:46 AM   #10
sampson01
Subscriber
 
sampson01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Williamson, WV
Posts: 109
Thanks: 14
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by usassg1124 View Post
Does anyone know how to add a "spin faces" MEL to Maya. I do not know anyhting about MEL. I downloaded something off of the Internet and it seems as if it works but it deletes the edge between the two faces that I select. I bought the Chef Ramsay tutorial and he uses it there but I cannot figure out how to add it and use it. Can anyone provide me with step by step instructions on how to add it and use it. Thanks
Hey, did you ever figure out how to get the spin faces to work? I have Maya 2013 for Mac. I tried getting it from creative crash and even got as far as putting it on my shelf but it doesn't work.
__________________
Sampson
sampson01 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sampson01 For This Useful Post:
Old 16-02-2014, 04:44 AM   #11
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

As mentioned above, there's a built in command now: "Polygons > Edit Mesh -> Flip Triangle Edge"?
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NextDesign For This Useful Post:
Old 16-02-2014, 10:08 PM   #12
sampson01
Subscriber
 
sampson01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Williamson, WV
Posts: 109
Thanks: 14
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by NextDesign View Post
As mentioned above, there's a built in command now: "Polygons > Edit Mesh -> Flip Triangle Edge"?
In the Chef Ramsey tut, Jay uses a MEL script to spin two selected faces. The "flip triangle edge" is not the same thing. I tried it and it does not work.
__________________
Sampson
sampson01 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sampson01 For This Useful Post:
Old 16-02-2014, 11:17 PM   #13
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Yeah spinFaces is a life saver.

I'm running 2013. Stick the script in your Maya2014 scripts folder. Then go to the script editor file > source script> selct the spinfaces mel. then in the command line or script editor simply type spinFaces;

should work. then place that same command ( spinFaces; ) on your shelf.

sometimes the script punks out when you open a new maya so just repeat the process.

Jay

Last edited by NextDesign : 16-02-2014 at 11:56 PM. Reason: Fixed nasty emoticon ruining command formatting.
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jay For This Useful Post:
Old 17-02-2014, 02:35 AM   #14
Juanpax
Having Fun!!!!
 
Juanpax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 157
Thanks: 39
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Spin Faces Or Spin Edges??
Attached Thumbnails
 
Juanpax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Juanpax For This Useful Post:
Old 17-02-2014, 09:55 AM   #15
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Spin Faces

not maya's spin edges, that is a total waste of space...

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jay For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Keep faces on Sircharles Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 07-12-2010 01:20 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.