Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-01-2010, 02:13 PM   #1
Mattrumble
Subscriber
 
Mattrumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Viewports

Hello,

Im very new to Maya. Im having some serious trouble with the view ports. View ports 1, 3 and 4 appear to be locked together, when i change viewport 1 to 'right' then 3 and 4 do the same thing. How can i un-link the views, making them independent of each other?

Ta
Mattrumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 04:44 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

this happend to me once, I think all I did was open a new scen then imported the stuff I was working on...dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 06:13 PM   #3
Mattrumble
Subscriber
 
Mattrumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, its really strange - but i started again but somehow its locked again. VERY frustrating to say the least.

It feels like a bug, there's a few running 10.6 and 2010...

Matt
Mattrumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 08:21 PM   #4
Mattrumble
Subscriber
 
Mattrumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah im sure this is a bug, its doing my bloody head in!
Mattrumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 02:51 AM   #5
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

u may want to stick to it to know how to solve it but if it's that much troublesome, why don't u try reseting the preferences to defaults? i mean, just troubleshooting.
__________________
projects of my company
3D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPTmThoCrIY&feature=related - project - disney diwali (india based company)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSAfzqMBHqs&feature=related - project - 2 medhak (Public Service Ad)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMLR2L-swZo - project - ace bank commercial
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZogNsf8k-xU - project - company Profile
2D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82xV3bII9bU - project - (a fren named jimmy)
effacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 08:54 AM   #6
Spacefacer
Subscriber
 
Spacefacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi I had the exact same thing happen today.

I fixed it by going to each viewport that needs to be reset to the view you want and Select:

PANELS>Orthographic>front, side or top.

Hope this fixes things up.
Spacefacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:50 PM   #7
Mattrumble
Subscriber
 
Mattrumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, that done the trick. Odd...

Are you using OSX?
Mattrumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 11:14 PM   #8
Spacefacer
Subscriber
 
Spacefacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep running the Maya 2010 Educational on Snow Leopard - 10.6.2
I've only been using Maya for 2-3 months. Still very early days.....
Spacefacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 11:50 PM   #9
Mattrumble
Subscriber
 
Mattrumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, i've been running the same set-up - 10.6.2/2010 but for only a month. How are you getting on with it? Have you found any other bugs i should keep an eye out for? I'm sure there is a problem with rebuild Curve.



Matt
Mattrumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 06:15 AM   #10
Spacefacer
Subscriber
 
Spacefacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm really concentrating on modelling at the moment, but I brief stint doing some animation and kept running into play blast setting problems.

For eg: I would set the frame rate to 24 and have it play real time but it would always play back at double speed....still haven't figured it out yet. But ultimately it just my inexperience that I don't know how to fix it, yet.

Oh I managed to crash it by using nCloth and setting the the smoothing to high...my bad.

Apart from that its been great.

Keep learning!
Spacefacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 07:30 AM   #11
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Mattrumble
yeah, that done the trick. Odd...

Are you using OSX?
the view ports are independent of each other but if they are showing the same camera then of course all of them are going to look and act the same....
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 12:43 PM   #12
Mattrumble
Subscriber
 
Mattrumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Chirone, Yeah i know they're independent but for some reason with OSX 10.2.6 and 2010 they repeatedly get locked together without any commands from its master
Must be a bug, found a workaround - viewport keyboard shortcut mapped.
Mattrumble is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.