Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-02-2010, 01:23 PM   #1
VirusT91
Registered User
 
VirusT91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Too stupid for facing

Hey guys,

im trying to get closer to maya. I was just playing a bit around and wanted to create a simply model. But im too stupid to face a normal polygon cube. I created a polygon cube and splitted a selected edge ring in the middle of it. Now i wanted to extrude the upper half of the cube. But when i press rightclick on the cube to use the face command, nothing happens :headbang:.

Im using Maya 2010.

Can you say me what i am doing wrong?
I thank you already yet. Sorry for my stupidness .

cheers Virus
__________________
"I love Windows, i used it to download Linux!"

Last edited by VirusT91 : 03-02-2010 at 01:54 PM.
VirusT91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 02:15 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

have you clicked on it (so it is high lighted)and is the curser over it when you right click..........dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 02:27 PM   #3
VirusT91
Registered User
 
VirusT91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes, but normaly on each site of the cube a point has to assign in the mid right?
That doesnt happen.
__________________
"I love Windows, i used it to download Linux!"
VirusT91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 03:31 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Could you show an image or even upload the scene? It's hard to understand your problem.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:53 PM   #5
VirusT91
Registered User
 
VirusT91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dont know if this helps you to understand...
but this it looks like when i faced it, but i doesnt look like in the tutorials i watched and it doesnt even work like either.

http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/1512/unbenanntvr.jpg

__________________
"I love Windows, i used it to download Linux!"
VirusT91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 05:20 PM   #6
jpar
Registered User
 
jpar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You're just wanting to extrude the face? It appears from the screen grab that you already have the "face" command selected. If you click on the face, it should turn from red to green (or, it does in 2009 anyway). Then go to Edit Mesh in your top menu bar, and click on Extrude.
jpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 05:43 PM   #7
VirusT91
Registered User
 
VirusT91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok so the point is, that in the version the man is using in the tutorials i watched is 6 and in this version faced sites are signed with a point in its mid. ok this is really embrassing :attn: thanks alot for your help

greets virus

THREAD CAN BE CLOSED
__________________
"I love Windows, i used it to download Linux!"

Last edited by VirusT91 : 03-02-2010 at 05:47 PM.
VirusT91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 06:07 PM   #8
Brains
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you want the dot in the middle then go to your preferences under the window button. In the preferences dialog click selection under the settings category, here you can change the way you select your faces.
Brains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 06:26 PM   #9
VirusT91
Registered User
 
VirusT91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you! thats exactly what i was looking for...
that was really irritating me!

greets Virus
__________________
"I love Windows, i used it to download Linux!"
VirusT91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 09:15 PM   #10
VirusT91
Registered User
 
VirusT91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok bevore the thread gets closed one more question about what i was basicly going to do.
i know there are couple of other threads in this forum how to use the standart maya tools like mj poly tools, but im not as good in english and cant follow :-(.

so maybe somebody can explain to me how i can use the basic maya tools to do a edge loop split...

thx alot... virus
__________________
"I love Windows, i used it to download Linux!"
VirusT91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 11:51 PM   #11
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i think...

1. click edit mesh > insert edge loop

2. click on an edge that you want to split.

i don't remember if 1. is right since i dont use the menus to get the split polygon tool

insert edge loop will insert an edge loop so long as all the edges it comes across has an opposite edge
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 04:57 PM   #12
VirusT91
Registered User
 
VirusT91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah it works, but is it possible to set the edge loop automaticly in the middle of the edge?

other question: is it possible to use the mj poly tools in maya 2010?
__________________
"I love Windows, i used it to download Linux!"

Last edited by VirusT91 : 04-02-2010 at 06:15 PM.
VirusT91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 05:29 AM   #13
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

...yeah its in the tool options, have a play with the options...

maintain position is used to determine if the edge loop will be inserted in the center or relative and how many edge loops you want

just have a play

i've never used mj polytools before (or i might have but i didn't see the point in having it since it didn't do anything new)
if it's what i'm thinking of then all it does is put the shelfs with the buttons up top into another window. anything it can do you can do with the tools on the shelf as they're the same.

i might be wrong though.. there might be some special tool that does something that requires more than a few clicks if you did it normally
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 04:43 PM   #14
VirusT91
Registered User
 
VirusT91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah maybe thats possible but i cant handle this right now...
inserted the mjpolytool mels in the script ordner of maya 2010, which is now in the installation folder under scripts and startup.

but where can i find the option extrude face under maya 2010?

thx for your help :-)
__________________
"I love Windows, i used it to download Linux!"

Last edited by VirusT91 : 05-02-2010 at 05:24 PM.
VirusT91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 09:51 PM   #15
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

might i suggest you do the tutorials that come with maya?

i dont have 2010 but i doubt it's any different to 2009

you can also get to extrude from the marking menus. i didn't add it to the picture because it didn't show up in the screen capture
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D

Last edited by Chirone : 05-02-2010 at 09:53 PM.
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.