Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-03-2010, 10:02 PM   #16
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Here is what I mean.

Grey



Color (textured)




(got the floor texture on the roof - opps never mind just some tests).

Right got six lights in there so far with GI and I am almost happy with it, but need help on a few things here.

1) Lights - look like spot lights need them to look like a strip not a cone

2) Work out how to make the GI lighter still a little too dark for what I want. I also think the lights themselves look too bright against the wall
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:35 AM   #17
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Use area lights for the strips? And maybe cheat by using just a tad of ambient light? Just some suggestions, but I'm not a pro lighter.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 01:13 AM   #18
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

looking pretty cool so far. a little dark but it's supposed to be, just hope the character has a little bit of light so that we can see the detail you're putting into this. Keep it up, can't wait to see more progress.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 03:04 PM   #19
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

as I have already said its too dark but I have sorted that out (GI setting too low and everything changed once I put in all the rest of the lights) but still having problems with getting the tube light effect.

Area lights not working at all - way too bright and seem to very random effects.

I have tried using barn doors on the spot light and that's not working aswell

Is there a way of making an object give off light , just like real life ???
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 09:08 PM   #20
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Think Im happy with the levels in this one - going any lighter not working so well - again need to sort out the shape of the lights on the wall, and apply the rest of the textures and add (or in some cases build) more props.

__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 09:26 PM   #21
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Looking great tweety, the only thing I can think of to help with the lighting would be something using surface shaders maybe, not sure if that'd give the effect you'd want though. Maybe used in conjunction with some lights if not.
If that doesn't work then I'm at a loss for ideas, everything I've found on objects emitting light has been surface shaders, or the use of Maxwell in which you can just assign a light emitter to the geo.
Hope it helps, or that you find a better solution soon!

Either way, I'm enjoying watching your progress mate.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 10:05 PM   #22
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

cheers

I`m kicking myself right now as I just found this for 3dmax errrrrrrrr

http://www.3dallusions.com/forums/tu...cent-lamp.html
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 12:23 AM   #23
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

OK now I am confused

I added a bunch of spot lights above a door to square of the light and it worked. Wooh hoo

But when I add the lights above all doors the whole render goes darker - even though I am adding MORE lights.

The new lights do not cast shadows or GI.

There must be a way to get square lights - this is taking the piss
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2010, 04:40 PM   #24
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Whooooo Hoooooo

Sorted the lights (The image is a low settings test)
Took hours and hours to get this looking like I wanted it.

Some textures missing still. Need to get rid of the props and set dress it a lot better once everything is done.

Just need to make the rest of the props to fill this place up a little more.

Also need to move the light fixtures to above the light beams



Here is just a quick camera fly though just to see how it is looking

Yes I know I forgot to turn the bulb on the right off and on even though the light itself is flashing, but it was just a quick test.

Link to video

Please bare in mind nothing here is final yet. Crits welcome
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 13-03-2010 at 04:46 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2010, 05:39 PM   #25
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Here are some downsized textures for Set 1



__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2010, 02:34 PM   #26
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Well I missed the end of the Avatar Challenage (god dame it) and not alot of work has been done on this the last two weeks but I have a good resean

I Got Engaged

Had to take some time out to tell the family and look at some new houses and stuff but I`m getting back to work this week I promise.

Anyone know the best way to render out a moving dust layer - I what the corridor to look as if there is alot of dust in the air but have no idea where to start (apart from it will probably involve partials) I think it would add some missing character to the set.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2010, 03:39 PM   #27
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tweetytunes
Well I missed the end of the Avatar Challenage (god dame it) and not alot of work has been done on this the last two weeks but I have a good resean

I Got Engaged

Had to take some time out to tell the family and look at some new houses and stuff but I`m getting back to work this week I promise.

Anyone know the best way to render out a moving dust layer - I what the corridor to look as if there is alot of dust in the air but have no idea where to start (apart from it will probably involve partials) I think it would add some missing character to the set.
I'm not sure how you would simulate the dust , maybe using some volume effects or something.

But just wanted to say congrats on getting engaged!

__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2010, 06:40 PM   #28
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Congrats!! When's the wedding?

About the dust, maybe have the floor, or ceiling emit particles and a low rate, add a subtle turbulence field, start the shot well into the simulation.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2010, 09:18 AM   #29
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Originally posted by stwert
Congrats!! When's the wedding?

About the dust, maybe have the floor, or ceiling emit particles and a low rate, add a subtle turbulence field, start the shot well into the simulation.
Not for awhile, we getting a new house together first and we just got a puppy - and that's enough for now.

But that sound like a plan on the dust - thx - it also so very simple which is also great
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2010, 03:09 PM   #30
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Now that challenge is over and I`m in the mood for some organics I have finally got back to this project and the main character Matt.

I`m getting good at these clean meshes at the mo and here is another example of it so far



Did make the whole head but I`m slowly deleting the areas you`ll never see due to the suit.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 22-10-2010 at 05:53 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.