Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-02-2010, 12:56 AM   #1
Barnstable
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Gradated Alpha Texture possible?

Hey Everyone.

First post, but I hope to be active as there's plenty to learn about Maya.

Anyway, I am making an atmosphere texture for a planet (Maya 09, and rendering in Mental Ray) and I was wondering if there was a way to use an alpha channel texture to create the clouds, thereby making them opaque, semi transparent, and fully transparent depending on the thickness of the atmospheric conditions. I know I can do it with particles, and I know how to create an alpha channel texture for a solid object or a smooth gradation, but not one that's opaque or transparent depending on the texture it's referencing. I guess theoretically you could layer multiple layers with alphas applied to get this effect, but I was wondering if there was an easier way that I haven't been able to find as of yet.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Barnstable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2010, 08:40 AM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

welcome to the forums!

you can hook up a greyscale texture to the object's material's transparency slot in the attribute editor

black means it's opaque and white means it's transparent and grey is in between
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2010, 06:30 PM   #3
Barnstable
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for the reply Chirone.

That was the first thing that I tried, and it didn't work. I thought it would make sense for that to be the way to do it, and I had some vague recollection of doing that in the past, but i don't understand why it wasn't working for me.

I'm wondering if it had something to do with some other settings and attributes I had connected to the poly surface.
Barnstable is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.