Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 23-04-2010 , 11:58 PM

Does Maya have a "Slice Selected" equivalent to Modo splitting edge loops?

Hi SimplyMaya community,

I am relatively new to Maya and looking for Modo similar controls. I am simply trying to select multiple edges for a shoulder loop on my Maya model running across the chest up over shoulder and then across the back. In Modo I would select all necessary adjacent edges > Select Loop Slice > and then check "Slice Selected."

I don't believe the Insert Edge Loop and Split Polygon Tool offer the freedom I require for this since it is not a standard loop running around a sphere. It travels in the direction of a shoulder pad.

I have recently discovered that running the polySplitRing in the command line essentially solves my problem but I was wondering if this option is available beyond the command line. If not, could someone help a poor noob like myself with mapping a hotkey for polySplitRing? I seem to have trouble locating this command in the hotkey editor as well.

Thanks in advance for the support!
-Eric

Last edited by Megatron2.0; 24-04-2010 at 09:17 PM.
# 2 24-04-2010 , 01:14 AM
Lifetime Member
Hi mate,

Im newer than a noob but here you go for the hotkey

I assigned a key just to check I had the right thing you were looking for. Hope this pre noob has helped.

cheers bullet

Attached Thumbnails

bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 3 24-04-2010 , 09:45 AM
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Can you post up an image of said shoulder pad and hilite the way you want to run a loop split please. because if these arent working for you then your loops are quite loops IMO.

cheers
Jay

# 4 24-04-2010 , 10:09 AM
Lifetime Member
Hey Jay,