Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Lounges > Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-04-2010, 12:58 AM   #1
Megatron2.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Does Maya have a "Slice Selected" equivalent to Modo splitting edge loops?

Hi SimplyMaya community,

I am relatively new to Maya and looking for Modo similar controls. I am simply trying to select multiple edges for a shoulder loop on my Maya model running across the chest up over shoulder and then across the back. In Modo I would select all necessary adjacent edges > Select Loop Slice > and then check "Slice Selected."

I don't believe the Insert Edge Loop and Split Polygon Tool offer the freedom I require for this since it is not a standard loop running around a sphere. It travels in the direction of a shoulder pad.

I have recently discovered that running the polySplitRing in the command line essentially solves my problem but I was wondering if this option is available beyond the command line. If not, could someone help a poor noob like myself with mapping a hotkey for polySplitRing? I seem to have trouble locating this command in the hotkey editor as well.

Thanks in advance for the support!
-Eric

Last edited by Megatron2.0 : 24-04-2010 at 10:17 PM.
Megatron2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 02:14 AM   #2
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Hi mate,

Im newer than a noob but here you go for the hotkey

I assigned a key just to check I had the right thing you were looking for. Hope this pre noob has helped.

cheers bullet
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 10:45 AM   #3
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Can you post up an image of said shoulder pad and hilite the way you want to run a loop split please. because if these arent working for you then your loops are quite loops IMO.

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 11:09 AM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Hey Jay,

wouldnt you just use cut faces on the angle you wanted from front view??? I thought about that later on. Easier than mucking around poly by poly? Thats if it is planar of course.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 02:46 PM   #5
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hey Bullet

yeah you could, but the impression I get here is that he wants it to loop properly without any fuss. Maya's edge ring tool should work fine if the loops are in reasonable shape so to speak. And even cutting them with the split poly tool wont hurt.

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 03:05 PM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

cool as man,

I would go the easy option with the cut face tool (Im lazy), then copy the faces I want to keep (or hide them). Then delete edges, though I suppose you may as well use as you say the split poly tool. I tried what he meant but all it did was create poly lines centrally on the face etc, you know more than I do so I will say that is from me amigos.

PS Jay I think he meant diagonal?? from the right hip across the left shoulder down the spine back to the right hip rear??? I could have read it wrong.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 24-04-2010 at 03:08 PM.
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 07:59 PM   #7
Megatron2.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, my mistake. A picture would have really simplified matters. Thanks for all the replies so far, as I seem to be making headway in understanding this simple issue. Here is an extremely basic example I whipped for the post.

Thanks again!

_______________

http://www.epochat.weebly.com

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49619455@N06/4548218903/
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by Megatron2.0 : 24-04-2010 at 08:02 PM.
Megatron2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 08:12 PM   #8
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

In this case I think (though I'm a relative newbie too) the best bet would be to use a combo of insert edge loop and split poly. Insert edge loop has options to do a partial insert (or sometimes if it doesn't know where to go, e.g. tris, it'll just stop there). Then finish up the loop with split poly. Hope that helps.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 08:17 PM   #9
Megatron2.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey Stwert, thanks for the response.

In actually the splitPolyRing command does exactly what I need after selecting the corresponding edge loops running over the shoulder. But I was wondering if this option could be found somewhere in the UI because I only know of this feature as a command line. If not, then I suppose a hotkey will do until Maya officially adds this as a tool because it VERY handy.

_______________

http://www.epochat.weebly.com

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49619455@N06/4548218903/
Megatron2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2010, 02:53 AM   #10
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Did you find the hotkey address from my pic mate?? was a pain to find as its noy named properly.

cheers bullet


here is something that might help, you can add a MEL script to the shelf apparently (I know nothing about scripting, sorry).


http://caad.arch.ethz.ch/info/maya/m...fm.html#251636
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 25-04-2010 at 03:00 AM.
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.