Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-05-2010, 12:33 PM   #1
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 478
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default zBrush to Maya issue

So I am exporting a model from zBrush to maya in OBJ and when I import into maya or open the file in maya its breaks my model into a bunch of random pieces. Posting a snapshop of what I mean, I only have 2 pieces selected but shows what I mean.....If anyone has any idea on how to fix this please let me know I am at a total loss.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2010, 03:36 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Hi Ozgalis
What version of zbrush are you using...........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2010, 06:20 PM   #3
septopus
yes...you dont sound not non double negative
 
septopus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

in the export option, turn off export sub group (grp button)
__________________
level 3 luchador!

image dump
septopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2010, 07:05 PM   #4
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 478
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

dave - I am using 3.5R

sept - I tried and now when I try to import the OBJ into maya it gives me a read file error with that one but not with the one with the sub group turned on.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2010, 08:51 PM   #5
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

With 3.5 r3 you can export a ma file from zbrush also theres a goz binary not tried that yet............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2010, 09:13 PM   #6
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 478
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

it works now with the sub group off, I dont know why it wasnt working before, I will try a goz though just incase this becomes a frequent issue, thanks for the help.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2010, 03:39 PM   #7
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

under the export option, Turn on MRG and turn off group.

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.