Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-06-2010, 02:15 PM   #1
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default Mental Ray Blurry texture

Hey Guys,

My turn for a question!

Ran into a strange problem that I've never had before, I fixed it but wondered if anyone knows why it might happen.

I've got a textured model with an image file for the colour map. I set the filter to mipmap and rendered a close up of the object usign Mental Ray and parts of the texture are really blurred (Its fine in software)

To solve it I set the filer to none and its ok.

Anyone ever had this problem or may know whats going on?

Cheers

Steve
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 02:26 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

a filter in most graphic programs is just another word for a blur... perhaps the filter in your render settings combined with the filter in the texture settings just made it too blurry.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 02:44 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

True, Its just strange that when the object is a distance from the camera its fine, just when its close up, it gets really blurrey.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:06 PM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

makes sense if the texture is too small.

is it more than 4k?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:17 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Nope, it was a 1024 texture render as default res
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 11:17 PM   #6
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Hey Steve

sorry for the late post, yup its a dear old MR default. It has these weird and wonderful settings and in enough different ways to skin a cat.

the irony is that you can turn the blur off lower down under filter and its okay, yet turn it off under mip map and it seems to keep the default and greys the filter out, so one works one way and the other works the reverse - just arse.

I tend to switch the whole thing off as I assign every shader now, savs arsing back and going thru them all again.

later
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 11:35 PM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hey Jay,

Awesome man! Thought it was just me!

BTW your post was damm quick!

Cheers for the info mate, much appreciated.

Need to have a chat mate, need to send you a mail.

Cheers

Steve
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 11:43 PM   #8
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Yeah mate be good to catch up.

Also to sharpen up the texture for the render, switch the filter in the render globals to mitchell and to 3.5 in both boxes, it comes in as a default of 4 but the lower setting spikes it enough to make it pop.

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.