Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-07-2010, 04:08 AM   #1
proxy003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default problem with air vents on poly model

hello. I'm trying to do some poly modeling for a pickup truck. I want to put in some vents on the hood and I'm having problems. The idea is to model in poly and then "convert smoothmesh preview to polygons." I'm trying to subdivide a face and then extrude the subdivisions down to create the slots of the vents, but i can't keep the corners of the face square. It doesn't matter how many edge loops i put in, whenver i hit 3, the corners collapse. So instead of getting linear slots, i get curved slots. I assume i must be going about this wrong. Do i have to put in edgeloops for the entire truck body to get these vents? that seems like it would add a lot of complexity where i don't really need nor want it.
thanks guys

reference image:


poly model:


poly model with smoothing (3 key):

xxx
proxy003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 08:00 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You need to adjust your topology to fit, try to keep it all quads
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 11:12 AM   #3
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

You might want to reduce the size of your posted pics mate..they will delete them.

Is this what you were trying to achieve?? I am probably wrong

cheers bullet
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 03:58 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

as Gster said it needs be quads to get it smooth well but it would add a lot of topology to the model so you might be better off making a rectangular cut out (hole) for the vent and modeling the vent as seperate geo.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:52 PM   #5
proxy003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thank you for all the responses. Sorry about the large images. Sorry also if I'm out of my depth with this. I'm just doing this as a learning exercize.

@bullet, yes that is more or less what i'm trying to create. (thanks for posting the example, it was helpful in getting the vent holes to look right).

So if i extract the face and turn it into a vent, everything is fine, but when i try to re-attatch it is where I run into problems. It looks fine in poly mode, but when I turn on smoothing, it becomes apparent that I'm trying to fit a rectangle into a circular hole. I understand that this is also going to create non-4-sided faces, which is not good.

Does this mean that I'm going to have to create edge loops to line up with all the edges for the vent holes? or...

@jsprogg - you're saying that I might keep the vent as separate geometry? Does that mean the corners of the vent would line up with the rest of the body, but that it would be a separate object? I don't understand how I could get a continuously smooth surface with that method.

poly view mode


smooth-shaded mode


attempt to attatch vent to body
proxy003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 01:49 AM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

First I would staighten some of the edges up..as per my pic.

You can leave it as a seperate geo easily...just extrude the edges down a couple of wee times and whack a few edge loops in...it will then square off nicely and the components will work.

OR you arent snapping and merging verts properly?? IF you have any polyline meeting the area you have cutout..you need a corresponding one on the 2nd piece for it to snap. You cant have free/lazy verts around..it wont work.

If you have extracted correctly then thos verts from the body polyline should still be there..if not put some wee ones in with polysplit.

chhers bullet
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 01:59 AM   #7
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Here is an image re-size vid too

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4090628/image_resize.wmv

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 02:47 AM   #8
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

as Bullet has said you can extrude it down and add a loop or two to keep it tight.
to Make any corner stay tight when smoothed add a split close to either side of the corner ..the closer it is the tighter it will stay, but try to end the split so as it stays quads.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2010, 06:40 AM   #9
paldav
Subscriber
 
paldav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: north west england
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

What you could try depending on what version of Maya you are running is extrude your quads down a little from the original one piece mesh in poly mode, then select all the edges around the holes and use the crease tool to keep everything from goint circular.
__________________
free memory low..exception thrown
paldav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.