Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-07-2010, 11:58 AM   #1
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default 2 monitors for Modelling

Ciao!

I am using a 22" (wide 1080)Benq monitor & win7. What is the best for 2nd monitor ? I was thingking to sell this & buy two 19" but thats only good for modelling & sometimes I watch movies too... so i ll keep this for 1st. Is it better to have a good 19" than another wide for second?
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:26 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Honestly, I think ditching that for dual 19' monitors would be a downgrade. If you have a dependable 22' with a decent response time and contrast ratio then you're in business. If for whatever reason you're not getting another with the same dimensions (space, money, whatever) then a 19' secondary would do fine.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:37 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I've got a 22" and a 19"... works great for me. I'd love a 24" (for 1080p) and a 19", but I don't see much point in trading up for 2 inches.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:40 PM   #4
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

I was not thinking on two 22" wide cause its pretty wide. its like 1,5 meter or something. i ve to turn around to close a window
I ve one of the cheapest 22" HD monitors but it works well>>
G2220HDA
Would you buy the same one again? Or the same size again?

Originally posted by GecT
Honestly, I think ditching that for dual 19' monitors would be a downgrade. If you have a dependable 22' with a decent response time and contrast ratio then you're in business. If for whatever reason you're not getting another with the same dimensions (space, money, whatever) then a 19' secondary would do fine.

Last edited by Joey81 : 12-07-2010 at 07:43 PM.
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:23 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

A single 26" is great.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 10:34 PM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

saves on wearing bi-focals eh gster?

cheers bullet

P,S yes I am in envy gster...a crappy lappy at 17' is all I have
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 12:36 AM   #7
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I have two dell monitors, ones a 24 and ones a 22... it's good to see how things look on different monitors, but to compare things side by side it's impossible... if you want to have the same image on both monitors to compare subtle changes in the picture that you've made you'll want two of the same exact monitors. For modeling I only really use one, have the other one open with the web browser or a tutorial, or keep my music over in the other monitor so I don't have to keep minimizing and maximizing.
I always say larger monitors are better for anything with graphics. If I could upgrade I'd get two newer 24" I'd like to get 32" but I'm too close to my monitors and it'd hurt my eyes.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 01:40 AM   #8
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i would think you'd want your second monitor to be a duplicate of your first
i have two 22" LG monitors at home but they are different models and they dont display the same..
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 02:53 AM   #9
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

What graphics card are you on? If you have Eyefinity or whatever, you could grab another 22 and put in on top of the current one...

like so



But if you don't wanna pay like 200 bucks for a stand like that you could just wall mount the top one

__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 09:57 AM   #10
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

I ve a Sapphire Radeon HD4890 Vapor-X 1GB PCIe, i dont think it has eyfinity..

Originally posted by acid44
What graphics card are you on? If you have Eyefinity or whatever, you could grab another 22 and put in on top of the current one...

like so



But if you don't wanna pay like 200 bucks for a stand like that you could just wall mount the top one

Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 11:36 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Strange how you get used to the screen size very quickly though!

I have a 17" @ 1920 x 1200 (same as the desktop) laptop too and I really like working on it.

I used to like using dual 19"s one for all the refs etc and the other for the scene.

Ac Chirone said, make sure that you get 2 that are the same as its a tad irritating if they are different.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 04:53 PM   #12
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I don't really see the need for two of the same, depending on what you use it for. If you are comparing subtle modifications to the same image, sure, but if you're just using the second one for email, tutorials, music, and things like Outliners, Hypergraphs, Attribute Editors (as I do generally), no point.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 05:04 PM   #13
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

I think 1monitor is only 4 modelling. You can put menus, a render screen, attr editor & some useful stuff to the 2ndary. I hate to use 1monitor for modelling & tutorial. 22wide is just enought for a small video window & maya. New & better videos come out day after day & i still watch it in a widow around 300*300




Originally posted by stwert
I don't really see the need for two of the same, depending on what you use it for. If you are comparing subtle modifications to the same image, sure, but if you're just using the second one for email, tutorials, music, and things like Outliners, Hypergraphs, Attribute Editors (as I do generally), no point.

Last edited by Joey81 : 13-07-2010 at 05:07 PM.
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 06:04 PM   #14
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by stwert
I don't really see the need for two of the same, depending on what you use it for. If you are comparing subtle modifications to the same image, sure, but if you're just using the second one for email, tutorials, music, and things like Outliners, Hypergraphs, Attribute Editors (as I do generally), no point.
Generally you would want to have 2 the same, if your doing PS work then moving over to Maya on both its easier, the image is going to be the same to evaluate, saves messing.

two the same = better than two different
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2010, 11:07 PM   #15
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Joey81
I was not thinking on two 22" wide cause its pretty wide. its like 1,5 meter or something. i ve to turn around to close a window
I ve one of the cheapest 22" HD monitors but it works well>>
G2220HDA
Would you buy the same one again? Or the same size again?
Yep I would and I have . Among other things, it's annoying to have one monitor higher than the other because of different stands plus it looks badass but that's just me.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.