Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 18-07-2010 , 02:56 AM
Lifetime Member

Frag grenade

Got bored so I went back to my Armoury collection I have started. This is the first complete model...I have a sidewinder to go and about 50 models of antiquity as well as modern era stuff...yep wish me luck...should finish it in about 50 years. I know I could buy or download the models (Roman swords..sheilds..Greek, Persian, English etc) but I figure...why buy..just make and get better at modelling??

cheers bullet

P.S for the noobs..Im a noob and this was about 3 hours.

Attached Thumbnails

bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 2 18-07-2010 , 05:34 AM
EduSciVis-er
Cool, nice work! I'd be tempted to say that the grooves look a bit soft/smooth, though it's hard to say from the ref image.

# 3 18-07-2010 , 06:30 AM
Lifetime Member
Thanks mate,

yeh it was a bit hard to determine....some are hard some other refs are smooth....so I went for the easy option. The only mistake I mad was the shape at the upper...it should have been a little more expanded.

Still gives the noobs something to do and emulate...not too haerd a thing really..

cheers bullet

bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 4 18-07-2010 , 12:39 PM
Lifetime Member
And an arrow for the boredom, dont know how Im going to do the flights...hhhmmmmmmmmm

cheers bullet

never did any fletching etc etc

Attached Thumbnails

bullet1968

# 5 18-07-2010 , 03:53 PM

Originally posted by bullet1968

never did any fletching etc etc

I have, lots!

"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 6 18-07-2010 , 09:08 PM
Technical Director