Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-08-2010, 01:47 AM   #1
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Animating transparency in a particular direction

Anyone know how?
Thanks
Buster Sword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 07:18 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

use a black and white ramp
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 05:07 PM   #3
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In the transparency map node?
Buster Sword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 01:36 AM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

something about facing ratio too

what do you mean by 'in a particular direction', that could means lots of things

vague questions get vaque responses
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 12:52 PM   #5
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Like from left to right on a cylinder. Like a lightsaber switching on.

Last edited by Buster Sword : 11-08-2010 at 01:27 PM.
Buster Sword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 02:13 PM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Buster Sword
In the transparency map node?
yeah plug the ramp into the transparency and key the set position.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 04:31 PM   #7
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by hammer.horror
yeah plug the ramp into the transparency and key the set position.
Nothing happens, when I mess around with the ramp and render it shows the flow of transparency. But in the actual scene nothing happens, nor does anything happen in a playblast.

Last edited by Buster Sword : 11-08-2010 at 06:13 PM.
Buster Sword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 11:17 AM   #8
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Buster Sword
when I mess around with the ramp and render it shows the flow of transparency.
umm... so it works then.


Originally posted by Chirone
vague questions get vaque responses
word
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 01:23 PM   #9
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by hammer.horror
umm... so it works then.




word
Only when rendered and not in the actual scene though.
Buster Sword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:18 PM   #10
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Some things will only show up (or be transparent) in the render, but I'm not sure if this is one of those situations. Have you tried hitting 6 and 7 to see if the texture/lighting helps?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:12 PM   #11
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I don't think Maya likes to display transparency if done through a gradient, or any other type of texture, in the viewports.

As long as it works in the render you don't have anything to worry about..

cheers,
Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 10:22 PM   #12
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i'm pretty sure there is a setting somewhere that you can enable the alpha in hardware texturing, which makes it show up in the viewports
i just dont remember where such setting is.
i think i saw it on the gnomonology eyeball tutorial how you do it
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.