Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-08-2010, 02:16 PM   #1
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default Alpha channels

Hey Guys!

In photoshop i made a picture with alpha channel. The same way as sm - ferrari tutorial. I attached the node & it always give this msg>

TIFFReadDirectory: Warning, E:/Maya/Tervezés/Fiat Uno Turbo/Textures/Momo_Corse_Middle2.tif: unknown field with tag 37724 (0x935c) encountered.


I dont know why. I tried with jpg or bmp, but the alpha channel is not working. The background always white.

What do you use when you need alpha channel? or what did i do wrong?

joe
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010, 02:19 PM   #2
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Export it like .TGA ( Targa file )
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010, 02:32 PM   #3
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

thx, i ll try as soon as i calm dowm

i was able to crash maya verrrrry good. i had to restart the Pc... pfff
Mi_car_paint had some serious problem. I dont know what the shit is going on my Pc but no good 4 sure

Mi paint sometimes changes from green to white color, alpha channel does not work. With layered shader absolutely not
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2010, 02:55 PM   #4
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

Thanks mate!
Its working as i need
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2010, 05:00 PM   #5
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

jpeg is an 8 bit format and can't hold an alpha channel, you have to choose a 32 bit format like Tiff or Targa to include transparency.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.