Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-10-2010, 08:39 PM   #16
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Interesting, will try this in a few mins ..

edit: Nope not working, select glass poly, vertex, grab points, all fine.. shift select frame poly, frame highlights green you now have to select vertex points mode again, but cant holding down shift as that gives u diff options. So once in vertex mode hold shift select the frames points and oh the previous glass poly points deselect lol..

I cant win its silly it should just grab all visible verti's it just doesnt here... beyond, me never ever had this problem before..

Last edited by moosenoodles : 28-10-2010 at 08:47 PM.
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 08:51 PM   #17
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Can you use F8 to go into component mode?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 08:54 PM   #18
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Sorry look at my last post
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 08:58 PM   #19
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by stwert
Can you use F8 to go into component mode?
yeah you can stwert, but that just again F8 not with shift selected as that wouldnt produce any change in mode.
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 09:00 PM   #20
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by daverave
Sorry look at my last post
Yeah thats fine dave, Its the way I "always" have done it lol till now, its not working period and I just cant fathom it..

if I was more upto speed with doing screen vid grabs id do one, but this is so beyond my comprehension why its still droping the first selected verti's its getting laughable

hehe oh well soldier on eh..
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 09:06 PM   #21
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow im shocked, well how about this lol,

After thinking of what stwert said I thought what if i select both parts first then hit F8 instead of using menus etc to do it. It worked lol, i could highlight/grab all verts in both parts instantly no shift held..

Now why in hecks name does that work but not the way ive used it for eons lol.. its goto be some glitch "I" have on 2011? I will have to recheck bug fixes if there are any again..

So whats your views why F8 works with both selected parts and not using clicky pen doofus normal way ive always done and right click menus

sigh..
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 09:08 PM   #22
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Couldn't really say for sure... it is a bit of a weird setup. Component mode (F8) seems to be slightly different than the RMB component selection. E.g. If you RMB to vertices, you'll have to hit F8 twice to get back to object mode. Once to really go into component mode and once to get back to object. I wonder if it's something like a local and global effect. Anyway, hope that's working for you now. It's really an odd thing.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 09:13 PM   #23
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by stwert
Couldn't really say for sure... it is a bit of a weird setup. Component mode (F8) seems to be slightly different than the RMB component selection. E.g. If you RMB to vertices, you'll have to hit F8 twice to get back to object mode. Once to really go into component mode and once to get back to object. I wonder if it's something like a local and global effect. Anyway, hope that's working for you now. It's really an odd thing.
Yeah think ill hotkey F8 to something closer on fingies lol, oh joy just done a window set in 15 seconds compared to 15 mins messing about

Thanks for all your help, I will surely take a gander at the RMB vert option gen, or do some googling see if its been mentioned elsewhere..

Thanks for all your time, your all most helpful here..

James..

Last edited by moosenoodles : 28-10-2010 at 10:30 PM.
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.