Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-03-2011, 09:33 PM   #1
jali
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 537
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default ambient occlusion problem

Hi Guys,

I'm expriencing a problem, whenever I apply my abbient occlusion map to my character the mesh becomes transparent, I have modelled plenty of game stuff, but this has never happend before, can anyone help?

I have deleted all the history and all the normals are facing the right way, so i'm clueless as to what might be casuing this
Attached Thumbnails
 
jali is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jali For This Useful Post:
Old 05-03-2011, 10:44 PM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Sometimes when you connect a file through the materials "colour" channel, it sometimes also connects the same file through the transparency channel. Try right-hand clicking on "transparency" channel, under "Colour" in the material's properties/attributes, and select "break connection".
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mayaniac For This Useful Post:
jali (05-03-2011)
Old 05-03-2011, 11:07 PM   #3
jali
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 537
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mayaniac View Post
Sometimes when you connect a file through the materials "colour" channel, it sometimes also connects the same file through the transparency channel. Try right-hand clicking on "transparency" channel, under "Colour" in the material's properties/attributes, and select "break connection".
Thanks man!!!!! I was losing sleep over this problem, I never knew maya would play a new prank like this on me, after all these years of using the software,

once again thanks
jali is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jali For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raytracing Problem Lanza Technical Issues 5 23-02-2011 08:28 PM
animating simple bone rotation problem lost lobe Technical Issues 1 18-02-2011 03:04 AM
problem with smooth bind duyquyen Animation 1 17-02-2011 02:34 PM
Fluid effects Smoke/Fog looks bad, aliasing problem? Bugsby Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 08-02-2011 04:11 PM
Camera rendering problem! Aurorap Lighting & Rendering 2 08-01-2011 10:42 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.