Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-02-2003, 07:01 AM   #16
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Heh, yea sounds like you love the new stuff too , and building systems. I always love to built it myself because I enjoy it, and theres few that can build what i want for me, for the right price . The radeon 9700 pro is a awesome card though, im having NO problems with it and other than one thing, you need to run a sound card on the Motherboard, and not the onboard one, because thats what causes the vga to screw up! That is no joke either, I put on my old sound card (even worse than the onboard one) and it solved TONS of problems. I would say for you to go with that card, or supposively this new one by nvidia is way better than the radeon 9700 pro .

One question though, If i bought a refrigerated case, and ran the generator (or w/e makes all the noise) at a external spot, like in the walls where it would be more quiet.. and then if I ran a state of the art AMD CPU, could i overclock it to the degree of a pentium? Oh yea, but I dont even know if the bios will let you do this on a Athalon motherboard.. seeing i have never owned one .
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2003, 01:02 PM   #17
gordon7up
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

new pentium 4's are now hyperthreading (just like risc), they also utilise rambus rddram 566mhz bandwidth (amd dont and cannot cos intel has the patent). P4's use the i845e chipset AMds dont (agp8x, 566mhz mem bus and so on
gordon7up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2003, 01:10 PM   #18
Gekko
Registered User
 
Gekko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What a response! ! ! Just one query. I thought the graphics card only made difference to the render speeds if you hardware render?
Gekko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2003, 01:11 PM   #19
Gekko
Registered User
 
Gekko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, and sorry for the time delay. I only get to use the net at work and even then only at lunch. I'm not going online at home until a can get broadband. It's a waste of time otherwise.
Gekko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2003, 05:51 PM   #20
MKess007
Registered User
 
MKess007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im jealous of u guys. Im running on a AMD Athlon 1 Ghz 640 DDR ram with a 64mb Geforce2 GTS(w/ TV out ;p) and a 60 GB HDD w/ 1.64 GB left on it. I really need another HDD but dont have the money. My render times arent that bad, but it cant handle too many polys.

I would like to make my own like dual processor. That would be great. Im looking forward to the Hammer. I would like to get that more then anything. But are they gonna start that at 800MHz?
__________________
mahalo,

Myk

<a href="http://www.metic.net" target="_blank">www.metic.net</a><br />
MKess007 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.