Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-03-2003, 03:19 PM   #1
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can't key light intensity.

Whenever I try and key light intensity it changes the key values. So they all end up the same. It's starting to bug me. Is this even possible?
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2003, 04:17 PM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

everythings possible in maya
how are you keying it?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2003, 05:21 PM   #3
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im changing the value, the right clicking on it and selecting "key selected"
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2003, 06:00 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Are you changing which frame you're keying it on? If you just key the intensity on the same frame, then obviously no animation is taking place.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2003, 06:02 PM   #5
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You might wanna check if your light have any input connection that control your intensity. sometimes you can accidently connect stuff..

Also check if your lights attributes have been locked (will appear grey in the channel editor) - if that is the case, then select the attributes and right click them and select unlock ...

You could also check if your light have any animation curves attached, if the curve is set to be a "Step" curve, then your light will not change until suddenly and you might wanna make the curve to be a smooth or a linear curve..

That is all I can think of at the moment.

Hope you figure it out, good luck.

Kindly
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2003, 06:02 PM   #6
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes, I am changing the frame. for example I'll do this:

go to frame 1. change light intensity to 0, key selected.

go to frame 25. change light intensity to 1, key selected.

go back to frame 1 and see that the intensity is now 1.
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2003, 06:03 PM   #7
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this happens with a scene that only has 1 light in and no models at all.
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2003, 07:02 PM   #8
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

how do u see the effects of the light without any geometry?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2003, 07:12 PM   #9
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you dont but that's not the point. Obviously, I'm not making a scene with just a light.
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2003, 07:22 AM   #10
caligraphics
Registered User
 
caligraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmm are you sure you have Auto key turned on ?
__________________
Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
caligraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2003, 12:55 PM   #11
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

where is that? Everything else key's ok.
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2003, 08:09 PM   #12
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

if u look down in the right hand corner of the maya UI u shud see a key, thats autokey
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2003, 09:31 PM   #13
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

He doesn't need to have auto-key turned on if he's keying frames manually with "key selected". The steps he gave above should work. I just threw together a quick scene with a couple primitives and a spotlight....intensity keyed just fine.

What puzzles me is the "lighting a scene with no geometry" bit. What exactly are you trying to light? My advice, just add a quick primitve to your scene and use that as a reference so you can see the keyed intensity.

Anyway, all you have to do is this (if it doesn't work I don't know what to tell you):

1. Select the light...click frame 1 and click "intensity" in the channel box. Right-click, and "key selected." The box should turn orange.

2. Go to your end frame and select it. Adjust the intensity value. Key-selected again.

Should work.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2003, 09:38 PM   #14
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Here's the scene file I threw together. Maybe it'll help you.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2003, 10:40 PM   #15
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's exactly what I have been doing. This is really puzzling. I'll have a look at your scene and see what happens.
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Challenge -Jerry Can Texturing honestdom Battle Arena 77 03-12-2010 01:20 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.