Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-04-2003, 11:24 PM   #1
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Snapshot

Is there anyway other than screen grab where I can get a render of one of my view with wireframe and shaded.

I can get just wireframe, but i am unable to get both.
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 12:09 AM   #2
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I managed to get this far with a little help from danny in IRC.

This was using the hardware render buffer. Still not quite what I'm after though.

I figure I'll just have to prt scr and paste to photoshop after all :/
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 12:12 AM   #3
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I think theres a mel script that can do that. Its on the SM site too. Upper right on the page. Says "MEL". Right between the "Shaders" and "Models". Hope this helps.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 12:41 AM   #4
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Not need for a MEL, here what you want.

Just go to Shading > Shading Options > Wireframe on Shaded.

Here an example:
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 12:50 AM   #5
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

After you did that did you just print screen and take it in to an image app like photoshop if so that's not really what I was after.

Well, I'm just curious to know if you can export a pic like that from maya. If not I'll crack open photoshop.
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 12:58 AM   #6
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I not sure what you mean. When you Print Screen the image is saved into the clipboard, and therefore has nothing to do with maya.

If you mean you want to RENDER the object with the wireframe over it, then your gonna need a MEL. Look at SM's MEL page. If it isn't there, it will be at highend3d.com

hope this helps
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 01:04 AM   #7
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that's what i thought. I was hoping i could just render one out. Nm, I'll just copy to clipboard. It's just my res is at 1600x1200 and photoshop doesnt like that much of a paste.

Well, it's gonna have to.
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 01:07 AM   #8
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You tell Mr. P.S who boss
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 01:09 AM   #9
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think Mr R. Am is the only one that can really do that.

edited: due to missing words
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 01:15 AM   #10
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mr R. Am, i dont know that person
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 01:27 AM   #11
Spoiler
Registered User
 
Spoiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mr Random Access-Memory
__________________
<a href="http://www.boygirldesign.co.uk">My Business</a>
Spoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 01:31 AM   #12
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ahhhhh, silly me
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.