Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-04-2003, 10:30 AM   #1
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Rendering programs

I've noticed all the EXTRA nice images seem to be rendered in another program or utility. Is the maya render not as good? What kinds of cool features do they have?

Maybe you could just point me to a few brochures or something.

thanx
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:42 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Maya's renderer is fine. It can just seem a bit daunting to adjust the render settings to get the kind of results you want. It does have limitations that seem to be getting fixed with each new release, though.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:43 PM   #3
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

mental ray 1.5 (for maya 4.5)
GI_Joe (Global illumination)
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 11:07 PM   #4
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

what is global illumination? Whats the difference between the 2? Would i notice a diff from a mental ray, renderman, or gi_joe compared to a Maya standard?Are there any free ones(payed enough for maya)?

sorry to sound like a 2 year old but thats how we learn.
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 01:40 AM   #5
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

global illumination is a way to simulate realistic outdoor lighting, its usually very heavy on the cpu

mental ray can render proper GI, GI_Joe fakes GI because maya atm can not actually do global illumination so something is needed to give the EFFECT

mental ray is well known for its ray tracing ie. reflections, refractions, GI etc
renderman is amazing for displacement/bump maps and is so bloody fast, its pretty much industry standard (the file format it uses, which is .rib)
GI_Joe isnt actually a renderer, its just a way to simulate a light setup close to what global illumination is actually like

all those compared to mayas native:
mental ray, much faster, but cant render things like fur
renderman, very very fast, quality of image is a lot better but requires a lot of setup and you need to know how to program shaders pretty well to get a nice result
GI_Joe, nothing to compare, you cant render with it, you setup lights with it, then render using a renderer

just to clarify, from the list, the only renderers are:
MentalRay
PRman/Renderman
Maya

hope that helps
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2003, 04:09 AM   #6
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Wow Perfect man thanx i'm enlightened!
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2003, 03:22 AM   #7
ctaborda
Registered User
 
ctaborda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

bump on that, that helped me alot
:banana:

Are these programs like an OUTSIDE program from Maya?
like, when u need to render do u tell maya to render it and it uses that? Or you run the program separetly?
(mentalray or renderman)

thanks
Carlos.
ctaborda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2003, 03:27 AM   #8
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well maya obviously renders from maya, but you can do a command line render which is from dos
GI_Joe renders from maya as its just a maya light setup
mental ray is integrated into maya so you can render from there, but you can render from outside (i think) like command line rendering
renderman can be used inside of maya but i cant really say the MTOR is all that great, better to render externally really

mayas GUI takes up ram processing power and stuff anyway which slows down the render by quite a bit which is why command line rendering is favoured cos its faster and theres no need to load a UI
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2003, 03:30 AM   #9
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

WOW i really gotta learn how to do command line renders for my animations in my movie (in the WIP forum). Thanx again Nem, you know you're Sh*t.
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.