Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-05-2003, 04:09 AM   #1
scraggs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default no cd's please

hi all, i've been having a look around at a few big studio web
sites ie, lucasarts, pixar, pdi dreamworks & under the job opportunity sections they frequently stress not to submit demo reels on cd. They request mainy ntsc or vhs, whats the deal here.
i would have thought cd's would be sufficient.

thx.
scraggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 10:09 AM   #2
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

What's ntsc?
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 11:09 AM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by R-Tillery
What's ntsc?
National Television Standards Committee - that is the tv norm for america. in europe usually PAL ( Phase Alternating Line) or SECAM is used. the basic difference of pal and ntsc is that pal has 50 half-frames per second (25 fps) and ntsc has 60 (30 fps). the resolution of pal has 625 lines per frame (576 are used for the image) and ntsc has 525 lines per frame (480 are used for the image).

a vhs cassete is the same for pal or ntsc - but if it got recorded in ntsc, then it is incompatible with a pal vcr.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 11:20 AM   #4
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default Re: no cd's please

Originally posted by scraggs
hi all, i've been having a look around at a few big studio web
sites ie, lucasarts, pixar, pdi dreamworks & under the job opportunity sections they frequently stress not to submit demo reels on cd. They request mainy ntsc or vhs, whats the deal here.
i would have thought cd's would be sufficient.

thx.
one thing i could imagine is that videos look better if watched on the monitor of a computer. the vcr and tv has the advantage that the reel will look like it is supposed to look. images out of a computer will always look good on the screen - but will they still look good with reduced contrast and limited color and interlaced? especially anti aliasing needs to be done different with interlaced video. then another thing could be that a vhs is compatible with every vcr or vcp - but is a cd with whatever video codec compatible with every computer? what about security - virus on cd for example ...
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 01:01 PM   #5
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Its actully real simply VCR are cheap and fast to use....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 02:44 PM   #6
wchamlet
Registered User
 
wchamlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Most companies, from what I have heard, will only accept VHS reels because like Kurt said, it's cheap, and easy to use.

Now, the main reason most companies don't want CD's, or DVD's, is because of all the different codecs that people use. They don't have the time to download drivers, specific software, or codecs so they can view your CD. Where as a VHS tape is 100% compatible with all VHS players.

They aren't concerned with the "best quality image" as much as you think. In fact, if the original quality image is good, it should still look good on VHS.

But this doesn't mean that in light of you getting an interview, that you can't take in a CD or DVD of your work to show. Just make sure you have everything you need to install, or setup the computer so you can show it.
__________________
My Website
wchamlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 09:34 PM   #7
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by wchamlet
Now, the main reason most companies don't want CD's, or DVD's, is because of all the different codecs that people use. They don't have the time to download drivers, specific software, or codecs so they can view your CD. Where as a VHS tape is 100% compatible with all VHS players.
Exactly
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2003, 12:59 AM   #8
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally posted by wchamlet
But this doesn't mean that in light of you getting an interview, that you can't take in a CD or DVD of your work to show. Just make sure you have everything you need to install, or setup the computer so you can show it.
Or bring your work on a laptop. That way, you have absolute control over the hardware/software.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2003, 01:41 AM   #9
scraggs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool thx guys makes alot of sense.
scraggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2003, 06:00 PM   #10
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

ooo. very thorough. but that if your product you made was a new form of driver.. or something specifically computer oriented? like.. a player or something. shoudl you just take a video of it in use?
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2003, 11:14 PM   #11
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Well if the product you made was say a driver, and you’re touting for a job normally you would send the source.

David
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2003, 06:03 AM   #12
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

... what if you made a new type of cd. lol. could you submit it on cd?

*walks away like an idiot*
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 05:29 AM   #13
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

While we're on the subject of do's or don'ts, one thing I've noticed is resumes.

If you do not have any graphics experience, you'd be better off not putting ANY previous employment on a resume, rather than telling them that you were a manager at a Burger King and a telemarketer for 3 years. During my short month at Warthog TX, there's been a number of people applying (presumably for my job, as it hasn't been taken off their site's job page :p ). Many of their resume's are not exactly impressive with such information included. It'd be better to put "Not Applicable" when it comes to previous work experience.

Of course, this is a view based on the people I've worked with who accept resumes and it seemed like something I should share.

All in all, it's the quality of your portfolio that really matters.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 06:05 PM   #14
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Mike, i think people put stuff like "worked at burger king" etc etc to show transferable skills. And I would say that an employer is more likely to employ you if you have been emplyed before as it shows maturity and responsability. For example I am starting to apply to companies now for graphics based jobs but I am still putting down the fact that I worked in tech support etc for a couple of years just to show them that I have been employed and I have other skills outside of graphics. I agree that you dont need to put every job you've done but I would put something rather than "Not Applicable".

Just my tuppence worth
Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 06:09 PM   #15
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

in my opinion, tech support for computers is an applicable skill and so, yes, I agree you ought to put that.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.