Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Lounges > Members Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

View Poll Results: Which Operating System?
Windows XP Professional 17 58.62%
Windows 2000 Professional 12 41.38%
Voters: 29. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2003, 06:20 PM   #16
Cyrius
Subscriber
 
Cyrius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In front of my mac (France)
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i think i choose ...... MAC OS X.2 !!!!!!!!! the only good operating system who can t crash !!!!!!!!
__________________
Sorry but my english is very poor !
MaY ThE FoRcE Be WiTh YoU !
Cyrius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 08:07 PM   #17
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

used macs at school. X.2 can crash, can freeze, can **** its self over. No OS is perfect. Not even close.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 03:47 AM   #18
ayelar
Registered User
 
ayelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 107
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I also choose OS X.
ayelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 10:01 PM   #19
splintah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: vienna - austria
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

linux !!
splintah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 10:41 PM   #20
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok! lets get this post back to reality . That was a perfectly reasonable question.

I have heard many people debating this exact issue and I find taht in most cases it turns out to be win2k pro rules.

I have 3 comps and had maya on my old win2k 800meg 512 ram machine and ran more stable than my machine with winxp pro 1.5 gig ram 2.5meghtz processor. Win xp is filled with worthless drivvle.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 10:48 PM   #21
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Well i use Slackware (linux) on my server and on my NAS boxes, 2k on this thing im typing on now.

David
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:33 PM   #22
splintah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: vienna - austria
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well i dont have too much experience in maya on different plattforms but i´d go for 2k too

because its not made for the mainstream market
so its way easier to operate as a computer professional

winxp just sux for the simplest administrative things like shared stuff with more pcs.
its just sooo much more work to get winxp do what you want.

1000000 little gadjets and all that stuff
i mean i know what permissons are (files and shared folders) i dont need 10 popups to tell me how dangerous it is to play with that if you don´t know what you are doing.

nevertheless
winxp is sometimes faster and has this memory optimizer.
i may do a benchmark because i have to reinstall everything anyway so

my system
2xmp2800
1024mb reg ecc
msi k7d master l
geforce fx 500
2x 5400 hdds (non raid)

maybe then i´ll know if all the troubles with the xp interface is worth the fustration and anger
splintah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 02:31 PM   #23
Zyk0tiK
Registered User
 
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by David
Well i use Slackware
you poor poor man... naw not really, Slackware rules if you can use it I, unfortionately, can't
Zyk0tiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 05:14 PM   #24
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Windows XP Media Center Edition

windows for dummys, they say it will be sold only with some certified machines as is heavily hardware dependant, they want to make winxp no more hard to control than your cable tv tuner, that is: it has a remote control like your tv and you power up and down the pc as well as navigate the menus with it...
omg where are we arriving?

huuum... will maya be hard to control with a remote control?
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 05:24 PM   #25
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I use whatever the hell works. 2K, XP, OSX, whatever. I just want to get my work done. :p
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 05:25 PM   #26
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I concur!
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 06:48 PM   #27
cujo
Registered User
 
cujo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When I first switched to XPpro I did'nt like it.
I debated whether to switch back to 2kpro but did'nt want to
reload everything. After a while using it, though I actually like it better. I did some tweaks from http://www.tweakxp.com/
and it runs faster than 2kpro did. It also has never ever crashed.
2k pro only occaisionally crashed.
I hate the pretty XP interface, so I just set it to look like 2kPro.
True theres lots of useless drivle, but the system restore has actually saved my ass a few times.
Like the previous posts say "whatever works and you can get your work done"
XPpro works for me.
Joe
__________________
rasterfarian
cujo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:44 PM   #28
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally posted by HAL 9000
you know what? these always turn into arguments so....

Dude that was wrong........ Can't stop laughing...LOLOLOL


but as far as gaming goes, XP isent that great..it wont play older games like (Rogue Spear)
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 05:47 AM   #29
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i have XP w/SP1...again...but my machine is NEVER going to be connected online..i have about 8 services turned on only...when i run my comp and look at the process in the beginning, i have 13 processes...still takes alot of mem in the beginning than Linux...i had redhat9 and optimized it like hell, i made it seem as if it was gentoo compiled..but then again, i have no photoshop..so blahhh,, back to winXp..

and R-Tillery, Rogue Spear runs on my XP =) But i have no games in my Xp..

i hate dual booting so i would have to say Maya on Linux.Photoshop on Windows..2K of course..less work for me when optimizing it
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 02:35 PM   #30
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

How did you get it to work for XP? the maker said that they wont make a patch for it in XP, I have to boot up in 98 to get the older games to work?
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.