Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-11-2003, 05:43 PM   #1
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default uv problems

so i'm trying to uv map this spaceship that i have (to go along with my spaceguy if anyone has seen that thread). i'm having some problems with it though, i'm just confused with the uv layout and how i should be laying out my uv's so i can do the snapshot.

the problem i'm having is the line at the top of the uv window. i have narrowed it down to being the last edges that converge to form the very top vertex of the ship, but i don't know how to lay them out neatly, where they should go, etc. i'm using a cylindrical map for the body of the ship, and then a planar map for the porthole type thing in the center (seen to the right of the ship in the uv window). if anyone has any ideas as to how this should work, i just need a point to start from, something to kick it into my head so i can figure out what to do next. i'm pretty confused by the whole uv thing (even though i've watched several tutorials regarding it).

or, if it looks pretty okay, exportable to photoshop, just say that and i'll save myself some headache, hehe.
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2003, 05:47 PM   #2
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here's the screen shot
Attached Thumbnails
 
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2003, 08:56 PM   #3
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Looks fine to me.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2003, 09:37 PM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

not that dannyngan needs backup.. but looks like a great job with the UV's to me.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2003, 10:30 PM   #5
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay then here's another question,
i tried (just for the halibut) to snapshot that uv layout, paint it, and bring it back into maya. i just made a very simple layout, so i could see what happens (like 2 red stripes and white background), then i figured i'd expand on it. when i brought it back into photoshop it got super blurry when i created the shader and chose the uv file as the texture file. i couldn't really do anything to focus it either, resizing and adjusting just seemed to make it worse. is this a common thing? what should i try playing with to fix it?
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2003, 02:52 AM   #6
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Why fix it when it isn't broken? :-) I presume it renders ok, have you tried? If you want to increase the resolution in the viewports though, you can. Open the material your using in the attribute editor and scroll down to hardware texture. You can change the texture resolution from there. Though sometimes the default setting works best. Also, still in the attribute editor open the tab for your file texture, under Effects you'll find filter is set to 1, this add's a little blur to the texture with 0 being no blur so set it how you like.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2003, 08:36 PM   #7
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well i need to fix it because it is broken =)

here's what i did:
-edit polys>texture>cylindrical texture for ship
-edit polys>texture>planar texture for porthole type thing(which is parented to ship & on same layer)
-arranged uv's how they are in my prior screenshots
-uv snapshot
-load in photoshop
-paint texture
-go back into maya, create new shader, load the painted uv as the color map
-assign to ship

and now the map comes up really really small. at first glance i thought it was resolution but after playing with the attribute editor i'm seeing that it's actually just being projected very very small. tried using manipulator for cylindrical map to adjust to fit small texture, but it's too small for me to get any idea how to get it to work. here's what it looks like..



so now i need to figure out how to get the loaded texture to 'blow up' to fit the uv layout and then i can arrange it how it's supposed to be (or maybe it'll just work)

sorry for needing my hand held through all of this, it's just rough stuff when i'm trying to teach myself and the only resources i have are the people on this site, haha.

thanks again.
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2003, 09:59 PM   #8
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I have not seen a texture load like that befor. when you say assine the texute.. just how did you do that part.. I would like a little better brake down of what you did right after you were done with the texture if photo shop..
a nother question.. what is the res of the texture file ? 1028x1028 ?? what ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2003, 10:57 PM   #9
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally posted by soulcialism
well i need to fix it because it is broken =)
Ok but you only mentioned it was blurry.

Maybe you can zip up your scene file and texture map and someone can take a look for you.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2003, 11:13 PM   #10
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mrmacca, wasn't trying to be mean, sorry if i sounded like a smartass. i didn't realize that it was broken until today anyway, when i tried your resolution fix in the attribute editor, then i realized that it wasn't the resolution but the texture that was out of whack.

pony, texture resolution is 1024x1024. shader breakdown is this:
created blinn, selected color>map, selected file, chose the file that i painted in photoshop, loaded file, exited attribute editor, middle mouse dragged onto ship, and that's what happened. i didn't do anything else to it. don't have any bump/spec maps, just color for now. has this ever happened to anyone else?

if anyone would like to take a look at it i can zip it and send it to you, but i don't want to waste simplymaya's bandwidth to put it on this thread if no one is going to download it.
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo

Last edited by soulcialism : 26-11-2003 at 11:15 PM.
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2003, 12:25 AM   #11
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally posted by soulcialism
mrmacca, wasn't trying to be mean, sorry if i sounded like a smartass. i didn't realize that it was broken until today anyway, when i tried your resolution fix in the attribute editor, then i realized that it wasn't the resolution but the texture that was out of whack.
That's ok and you didn't. You can email it to me and i'll take a look.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2003, 12:48 AM   #12
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

well three posibles hear, while mrmacca takes a look.. 1) the texture file is blured its self. (fix in photoshop). 2) you have filters on.. like right above whare you load the file there is a filter setting. Tern it off, and try that. I don't remember but you never said if it was blury in renders also.. there is a difrence between what you see on screen (limited buy your v-card, and the render, not so limeted) and 3). I would try using a difrent work flow for getting the texture on there.. becouse your screen of the UV map looks way wired.. like there is a problem with it getting the UV map 1 to 1 with the texture.. I would right click on the object its self. assine a new matireal right there.. with that new matireal I would load the texture file in the color channel of that.. insted of makeing a seprat shader and draging it on to the ship.

let me know whats going on.. latter.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2003, 03:48 PM   #13
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey pony,
i tried your suggestions but i'm still coming up with the same problems. check out the filter thing - it was set to mipmap (which i've never touched so that might be default?) and the pre-filter bit wasn't checked. tried deleting shader, creating a new one and assigning it before assigning the color map and i still get the same thing.

i did however figure out that the resolution thing changes the size of the texture in the uv window. if i set the hardware texturing to highest, the loaded texture gets really small, but if i set it at default (low) it stays relatively large (still not large enough for what i need.

anyone else have any insight?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2003, 04:20 PM   #14
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

that looks pritty good though.. gess your going to want to get closer though huh ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2003, 04:52 PM   #15
soulcialism
Registered User
 
soulcialism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, it's supposed to look like this - with the porthole on the right and then the ship on the left
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
aim: rabidflamingo
soulcialism is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.