Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   sandscape (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29322)

digidan 17-03-2008 10:00 PM

sandscape

1 Attachment(s)
hi there

i´m working on a model that is an ice stadium which is filled with tons of sand for the summer to become some sort of bazaar/beach party area. i haven' worked a lot with maya and this is my first time texturing. i have made a texture with photoshop and projected it on the surface. then i made another file filled simply with "noise" for bumpmapping. but as you can see below, the result is not satisfying. i'd rather like to have it look like here: http://www.3du.de/maya2.htm
i suppose it does not look that "grainy" cause the bump map
is kinda "stretched" over the whole surface. now how can i achieve a likewise result. or is there even a better way to make a surface look sandy(i'm using maya 6)?can it all be done with particles?my pc is quite old.
btw:bumpmapping is only shown using hardware rendering,
isn't it?on the picture,the lower part is without, the upper part with bumpmapping.

Gen 17-03-2008 10:12 PM

im having difficulty understanding whats going on in the image. what kinda of projection did you use?

digidan 18-03-2008 12:22 AM

1 Attachment(s)
hi
i made a lambert shader.then mapped a "file" to the colour channel with "as projection" checked at the "create render notes". then loaded the texture at the projection tab.
same with the "noised" image at the bumpmap channel.looks like this in the hypershade:

Gen 18-03-2008 01:02 AM

from the texture warping think its a UV issue, 1. use normal instead of projection and 2. for this model try create uvs>automatic mapping and see what you get.

digidan 18-03-2008 05:41 PM

1 Attachment(s)
thanks for your reply GecT.