Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   UVs: Screw up when I move model (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28334)

scali 30-11-2007 04:24 AM

UVs: Screw up when I move model

My question is simple. Why do UV maps get all screwed up when I move the model? I assume it's because the 6 projection planes (I use automatic mapping, too lazy for otherwise) don't move, but the model does. How can I remedy this situation?

Thanks.

arran 30-11-2007 04:30 AM

delete history!!! under the edit menu. :beer:

LauriePriest 30-11-2007 04:35 AM

Check that when you assign your texture that your not assigning as a projection.

When you click the checkerbox to assign a render node to an attribute there are three radio buttons (normal, projection and stencil), you want normal selected.

scali 30-11-2007 04:39 AM

I'm fairly new to maya, so forgive me for asking.

So I have my model, I select Create UVs->Automatic Mapping, then what? I don't see the projection/normal/etc options you are referring to.

Thanks.

I should also mention that I start off my using the 3d paint tool to get the groundwork down on my model.

So, completely ignoring texturing, UVs move when I move the model, which is highly annoying. If I move everything in face mode, it doesn't happen. Buh? Anybody care to shed light on this matter?

wokendreams 30-11-2007 04:04 PM