Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Is it possible to render fur in a render layer? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30165)

tvholicjames 16-06-2008 06:49 PM

Is it possible to render fur in a render layer?

Hi,

I tried to rendered my environment that has fur, paint effects converted to polygon trees, alpha maps for my foliage, maps of 2048 resolution with color, spec and bump maps in a straight batch render. But it only rendered 15% as said in the script editor and it said completed. It didn't render the whole scene, because it ran out of memory again.

I am using Maya 8.5 and I know the presets of the render layers are buggy and I am not good at compositing anyway...

For the first question:
Do I have to render the fur feedback in a different layer of the render layer?

2) For the flat color pass (diffuse)...Do I select all geometries include the lights and dome with surface shader and set it to diffuse?

3) For spec, do I select everything including the lights and use the preset for spec?

4) For reflection for my pond...there is no preset for it.

5) I have displacement. Is there anyway, I can render the occlusion with displacement?

6) Well there is the fur.

7) Since occlusion gives you shadow, why would I need to render the shadow? And how to render the shadows separately?

Please let me know how I can go about doing it so I can finish my demoreel. Thank you very much.

Jay 17-06-2008 04:17 AM

Okay lets start from the bottom.