Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Texturing problem (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9171)

THX1138 28-11-2003 11:27 AM

Texturing problem

1 Attachment(s)
I have never been quite able to understand how to paint the wire frams of a model exported to a paint program.

When I make a UV snapshot of my model's wireframe and bring it up in a external paint program, I am confused as to how I am supposed to paint it. Do I paint over or under the wire frame? When I paint over it and import the textor into maya over my model, all I get is this. There are no tutorials on this specific part of the texturing process that I can find.

I am a total newbe at texturing of this kind by the way.

rich 28-11-2003 11:50 AM

I'm a complete newbie myself, so let me share what I have learned:

The trick here is not to export the wireframe of your model, but to export a UV coordinate map of your model. A UV coordinate map is a 2D representation of your 3D model. This permits a 2D texture to be mapped onto a 3D model.

In Maya you create this map by projecting your model into a UV space. Although complex sounding, it's quite simple. Once in the 2D UV space, you can then export the UV map to photoshop or some other editor where you can then paint it. Once it has been exported back, it is then sorta "unprojected" back onto your model.

As the UV mapping tutorial on this site never received it's part 2, I hope the moderators will permit me to say there's a good introductory tutorial on this in the Maya Rendering section of Digital Tutors. I wont go as far as to post a link :)

I hope that helps.

Pony 28-11-2003 12:39 PM

well I will assume you have your UV's already mapped out..