Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Maya Computer (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29035)

kimsay 18-02-2008 04:37 PM

Maya Computer

Hi I go into a Maya class for 12 days in April. I've some experience with 3d through Cinema 4d. Normally I'm a Avid Cutter but I'd like to go deeper into the 3d world. My question is about the Computer. I want to buy a new one, because my old Mac really sucks. And I want a PC again. Is DDR3 Memory really that better than DDR2 Memory? What kind of graphics card is the best choice? My budget is limited up to 800 EUR (I think about 1000 US$), which is not much!

Would be glad about some tips :D

Thank you very much!
kimsay

Mayaniac 18-02-2008 05:46 PM

$1000, is actually a fair bit of money, especially for building a computer. Or at least for building a decent and stable machine that you can add to later.

If you don't want to build your own. You could buy a solid Maya system from places like Best Buy ;)

I saw an Accer the other day at Best buy for $900

It was an AMD 4400+ with 3GB of DDR RAM and an Nvidia Graphics card (forgot the Graphic specs)

Now that is one sweet machine! Blows mine out the water anyway ;)

Also for about $200 Dollars more, you can get the same machine, only with an Dual core Intel processor. Only problem is, that the intel system comes with an ATI graphics card...

Plus you can also get them from Gateway, and HP (stay away)

Though if you want to build your own system, you can buy a Maya ready system for about $400...

For example, My Dad Build a New machine recently, purely as a Everyday machine (for the family) He spent about $250 dollars on a Bare Bone machine. Came with an: AMD 3000+