Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work In Progress (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   New Project (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=26439)

happymat27 01-06-2007 01:42 PM

New Project

1 Attachment(s)
OK then,

with my final year looming its ugly head, I need to make a start on my animation project. When I say make a start on it I mean get all of the pre-production stuff out of the way, mainly story and character design.

I have the basis of a story in my head and, without saying too much, it revolves around a main character and a balloon so while I consider where the tale goes I've made a start on a balloon.

This is my first attempt so it's far from perfect but I thought I'd share it anyway.

This thread will be around for a while, I'll not be sharing the story with you for some time (at least unil my tutors hear it) but I will post what I can in the mean time.

Enjoy what you see, if you have any comments (good or bad), I'll be glad to hear and will definately consider them.

CLICK THIS to see the balloon move.

Cheers,

Mat.

arran 01-06-2007 01:59 PM

can't watch the movie just yet as i'm at work, but the still shot of the balloon is looking pretty nice so far. that's a knot at the bottom right?

looking forward to seeing what comes next... :beer:

gster123 01-06-2007 02:58 PM

Hey Mat

Looks good mate! How did you go about animating the baloon? I would have either gone using a hair system attached to the curve for the string and a rigid body witha - gravity system constrained to the string.

Its got a real nice feel to it, something seems a little off but thats possibly the straight on camera angle not letting you see if its making subtle backwards and forwards movements.

Your making some headway into your project so far mate, hope that it get's approved by the lecturers.