Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work In Progress (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   First .......... Anything (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10839)

sarge40 08-03-2004 01:21 PM

First .......... Anything

1 Attachment(s)
Well ......... Here goes. This is my first attempt at anything in Maya. I have attempted a tutorial from Gary Lewis and Jim Lammers book "Maya 5 Fundamentals" which I bought last weekend, (a book I can very much recommend). ....... and here it is so far ........ be kind to me :nervous:
It is done in extruded polygons.
I can't work out how to get rid of the annoying pink dots though, and I wanted to post a converted polygon to subdivision pic, but it seems to only want to smooth one part only, I made sure all items were selected, but no go ...... *sigh* .... I have a lot to learn yet.

Alan 08-03-2004 01:31 PM

post jpgs not BMPs they are huge files (comparitively speaking).

Upload a different pic and you will get more responses :)

Alan

sarge40 09-03-2004 11:37 AM

yeah well that was well received I see .......... *sigh*

This is actually very hard to do isn't it.

:disap:

Alan 09-03-2004 12:20 PM

it's actually not a bad model so far. I think that you need to pay more attention to the nose detailing but apart from that it's clean and well proportioned.

One question is though why are you using mspaint to make your pics? why dont you render them in maya as jpgs?

Alan

rich 09-03-2004 12:21 PM

sarge... dont be discouraged; it is a steep learning curve but your model looks good. Maybe you could try rendering it and posting it (as a jpeg :) ) on the here... you'll get many more responses that way.