Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   model appears transparent (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34611)

se7enhedd 14-11-2010 01:42 AM

model appears transparent

hi, i'm brand new to maya and struggling thru a few tutorials. whilst I am following most of them and making slow progress, i've noticed that my model has gone transparent.
it's not the 'x-ray' view, as i've switched that off as far as i can tell.
it seemed to start happening after i'd used the proxy commands and toggled the view a few times, i'm using 2011 and some of the hotkeys are different than in the book i'm using, so i'm thinking i might have pressed something by mistake... :S

G-Man 14-11-2010 02:06 AM

Check the Shaders transparency node.
you can do that by opening up attribute editor and looking for the tab for the shader, it'll probably be called lambert something.
Check the transparency node and it is most likely set to something very low.
the smooth proxie duplicates your mesh and smooths it, and turns the transparency value on your base mesh down so you can see through it.
Sounds to me like you might have deleted the wrong mesh or something and ended up with the transparent base mesh.

g-man

se7enhedd 14-11-2010 02:20 AM

thats got it! thanks!!!

whilst i have your attention ;] would you have any idea about how independent the view panels can be i.e. can i have one view in shaded mode, another in wireframe and so-on; and could i have several persp views set to different views around an object?

bullet1968 14-11-2010 03:36 AM

If you go into ther view option in the actual panel you cant turn wireframe on in that panel...it wont show in the others unless you turn them on.