Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   trouble with edges (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31775)

Dr.Polygon 22-01-2009 09:14 PM

trouble with edges

I can seem to figure out how to get rid of sharp, pinched places in my models. I'm pretty sure this has something to do with edges, because they occur where I combine polygons, or bridge polys, or create polys to fill gaps.

I am using maya 2009, I am very experienced with Lightwave, but I am completely new to Maya.

Thanks,
jk

Gen 22-01-2009 10:41 PM

Do the pinched areas show up when you smooth? Because it could be that those edges/verts aren't merged. A screengrab would help.

Dr.Polygon 23-01-2009 01:33 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks for the reply. I can only see the edges when I smooth the model. I've tried merging the verticies and edges. Although I am a little confused about merging edges... I've used the tool on the offending edges, but it tends to tell me I need to select more than one edge and doesn't help. Maybe I'm using it wrong. Here are some pics of the edges I am having trouble with.

Thanks,
jk

Dr.Polygon 23-01-2009 01:34 PM

1 Attachment(s)
problem edges...:headbang:

arran 23-01-2009 05:47 PM

it looks like you still need to merge verts before smoothing - try increasing the distance in your options. you may also want to play with the soften / harden normals tool. :)

BennyK 23-01-2009 06:31 PM

It appears that the vertices are fine... try to soften the edges before you smooth the mash (Normals>Soften Edge). That should do it...
Benny

Dr.Polygon 27-01-2009 01:18 PM

Thanks for the suggestions, but still no solutions.

I incrreased the merge threshold incrementally until the polys started to collapse, to no avail.

The soften edge tool reduced the length of the creases, but did not eliminate them.